Axiom Home Page
Posted By: jazzrascal Economical but accurate subwoofer? - 01/25/07 01:30 PM
Hi

I'm new to the forum and am eagerly awaiting a new pair of M22's (should be here today). I'm a semi-retired jazz musician on a budget and living in an apartment, I mostly listen to jazz, easy listening and vocal tracks and am seeking your advice on an inexpensive, yet accurate subwoofer. I do listen to home theatre (about 50%),but being in an apt room shaking bass is not a requirement.

Is there something that may be a few years old that I might pickup on EBay, that will provide accurate bass to fill out my m22's?

thanks
Doug
http://thejazzrascals.com
Posted By: Hutzal Re: Economical but accurate subwoofer? - 01/25/07 02:52 PM
If you are looking for a very cheap solution, I would recommend the Rocket X-Sub which can be had for very cheap ($199) and has an amazing price/performance ratio.

Here is the review from Audioholics.com giving the sub a 4.5 stars out of 5.
Posted By: Wid Re: Economical but accurate subwoofer? - 01/25/07 03:04 PM
That is a nice little sub, my son has one. I wonder what shipping to Canada would be? You could check out Canuck audio mart for a used one.
Posted By: jazzrascal Re: Economical but accurate subwoofer? - 01/26/07 04:22 AM
Well my M22's came today and I've spent the day going through my mp3 files and CD's - the tweeter's still a bit bright, but I'm sure it will improve as I get more hours on it.

Thanks Hutzal and Rick for your responses, I checked out the Onix sub and it just might be a solution.

I am looking for cheap (although I prefer to use the term economical LOL). I don't have much of a budget, but I know that most inexpensive subs just make noise, and I wouldn't want one of those in my system - it must be musical and it doesn't have to work too hard, as it's mainly for music at moderate volume.

I checked Canuck but didn't see any that might fit the bill - wil keep checking tho - again thanks for your input.

Doug