Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Dave1009 Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/19/07 10:02 PM
As a newbie, I have a question about what type of connectors to use from my pre/pro to my amp. Am I missing something because I don't see any cable specifically for that from Axiom. Any advice and/or suggestions are appreciated!
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/19/07 11:02 PM
Ye olde coax RCA ended cables, unless you're lucky enough to have balanced outputs/inputs on both sides.
Posted By: SirQuack Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/19/07 11:05 PM
I just used Radio Shack "gold" coax cable with rca ends.
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/19/07 11:10 PM
Well, no wonder you've had so many problems, Randy!
Posted By: Ajax Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/19/07 11:59 PM
Hi Dave,

If you feel it necessary to have a specific cable grouping for that purpose, Bluejeans cables offers such an animal. They are a reputable company and make excellent cables.

However, 3 or 4 of any of the standard analog RCA cables will do the job just fine for a lot less money. You might want to be sure the cables can be split apart in case that is necessary.
Posted By: SirQuack Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/20/07 12:00 AM
monoprice also has some very very affordable cables with great quality.
Posted By: Ajax Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/20/07 12:05 AM
I was going to suggest those, Randy, but I'm not sure they can be easily split apart due to what appears to be a strap around the cables a few inches from each end of the cable.

Standard cables

Premium cables

If they can be split apart, or if Dave's installation doesn't require splitting, these would be an excellent, economical choice.

Monoprice RCA Audio Cables
Posted By: Haoleb Re: Pre/Pro to Amp connection - 05/20/07 12:18 AM