Axiom Home Page
Posted By: funkfuzz Newbie HT Purchase - Advice Appreciated - 08/01/07 07:20 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to HT but am a seasoned veteran to appreciating high quality sound. I'd really love some advice on what I should do with my limited budget.

I'm looking to spend about $2,500 or so for Christmas towards some AV gear for our basement theatre that we're putting together. Early next year, I could throw some more money towards it, so, I'm looking at buying my gear in phases and would really like to enjoy each phase, rather than spend a lot of money and in return have a noticeably incomplete setup.

My theater room specs are roughly:

Total room size: 24' x 23'
Active theatre section of room: 17' x 14'
Distance of seating area to screen location: 12'
Area behind and to the right of seating area is a pool table/ bar section.
Ceiling height: 7'3"

There's a wooden support beam that runs along the ceiling parallel to the seating area and viewing screen. It runs at a 13' distance from the screen location that hangs down about a foot and is pre-wired for a projector. That same beam is also pre-wired 4' to the left and right of the projector for surround speakers. Hopefully that is okay, as that was how the house was wired when we bought it. The ceiling is made of pop-out paneling, so I could theoretically put speakers wherever I wanted pretty easily.

In regards to non-speaker gear, I need an AV Receiver and projector. I already have an extra DVD player (OPPO 981), a projector screen that came with the house, and a boat-load of wiring.

For the AV Receiver, I'm looking at the Onkyo TXSR605, which at $399, I've read it is a great deal. If you have suggestions otherwise, chime in!

For the projector, I'm looking at the Mitsubishi HD1000U, which I've read at $849, is a great buy. Again, recommendations?

But let's talk speakers!