Axiom Home Page
Posted By: prototype3a QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 06:41 PM
So, I recently moved into a new place and I'm not allowed to put holes in the walls to hang my QS8s and as I'm once again a poor college student I can't just run out and buy the Axiom FMSQS to put them on. Any good ideas?

I'm an ok woodworker so I had thought about making my own sort of stands but I wonder if I should be using MDF instead of pine for this or if it even matters.
Posted By: jakewash Re: QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 06:48 PM
Use what ever wood you think will be easiest to work with, it is not part of the speaker so resonance is not a big concern.
Posted By: Murph Re: QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 07:30 PM
Acoustically, I agree, it shouldn't matter. If your going to do some nice routed edges, I hate working with MDF and its dust scares me.

Edit:
That should provoke Mark into action any moment now or "Captain Mortise" as he prefers to be called.
Posted By: richeydog Re: QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 09:29 PM

Posted By: Argon Re: QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 09:32 PM
Vinyl Spackling is a wonderful thing - as far as repairing holes in walls when you move out?
Posted By: Adrian Re: QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 09:41 PM
If you use pine or any other solid wood, just be carefull with the end grains(split out) when you route them, so you should route those ends first for this reason(use a scrap wood backup if needed). MDF is more consistent but as mentioned, you need to be carefull with the dust so use a mask or vacuum while you're routing if possible. You may even find some "ready-made" plaques at one of the B&M stores for a very modest price that may be suitable combined with a wooden frame as a stand. Think of a design like a "hat stand" with a mounting plaque on it but make sure the stand has a stable base since the QS8's are deceptively heavy for their size and will be several feet up in the air.
Posted By: MarkSJohnson Re: QS8 Stands - 11/18/09 09:47 PM