Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Bentley Pioneer Elite VSX-33 any good? - 07/20/11 07:45 PM
Hello everybody,

My first post but have I been an Axiom owner/forum reader for a couple of years now. I have finally got a 5.1 Axiom system (Minus the SVS sub) and I love it. I am now looking to upgrade the receiver as it was the first item I bought and I was a full time student at the time so it was on a small budget. I have been looking at the Pioneer Elite VSX-33 as I can get it for $550 after taxes/shipping and is listed as $1599 MSRP on the Canadian Pioneer website. Should I jump on it or look for something else? My current AVR is a Yamaha HTR-6140. Oh and I do plan to upgrade to M80's eventually... Any opinions or thoughts are appreciated!
Posted By: CatBrat Re: Pioneer Elite VSX-33 any good? - 07/20/11 08:12 PM
I have the smallest Pioneer Elite they made in 2009, the VSX-21TXH, and I love it. If it were me, I'd buy it. Mine was MSRP $699 that I got for $630 in 2009. Then they upped the MSRP to $799 about a month later. Used, it's only $289 now.

So far, no one has complained by driving M80's on an Elite model. I'm driving 2 sets of M22's on the Left and Right channel, and a VP150 and a M2 on the center channel, all wired in parallel, so I'm sure the OHM usage is much, much lower than one set of speakers per channel.
Posted By: Bentley Re: Pioneer Elite VSX-33 any good? - 07/20/11 08:40 PM
That is good news! Pioneer Elites don't seem to be that prominent around this forum and I couldn't find any real reviews on the unit so I wasn't sure. Thanks for the quick reply.
Posted By: CatBrat Re: Pioneer Elite VSX-33 any good? - 07/20/11 09:17 PM
Yeah, this forum is full of Denon snobs, but there are a couple of us with Pioneer Elites.
Posted By: nickbuol Re: Pioneer Elite VSX-33 any good? - 07/20/11 09:18 PM