Axiom Home Page
Posted By: snazzed Value Reciever for Amps - 01/20/19 06:51 PM
Hey all, long time no see!

So I've been loving up my Axiom speakers for a few years now, but...

I've moved and my HT space is now much larger and I'm having to run my Denon AVR-1910 at or near -0dB for movies and sometimes you can hear the strain. Or at least I can. My wife and kids don't seem to notice/care.

So I'm looking at an Axiom ADA-1000 but I'll need a new Reciever because that Denon doesn't have pre-amp outs.

So if I don't need built in Amps, and I just need pre-outs, what Reciever do you guys recommend? I'm looking at the Outlaw 976 but it just doesn't have some of the bells and whistles that things like the Marantz AV 7705 does.

Thoughts?
Byron Armstrong
Posted By: LaRazaUnida Re: Value Reciever for Amps - 01/20/19 08:47 PM
Just adding to the question—

When looking at separates, is there a large advantage of going 3 channel amp to power LCR and letting the receiver handle the rest of the surrounds vs choosing say a 7 channel amp? Just seems like a more expensive receiver is kind of useless when coupled with a 7 channel amp.

Thanks for the input.
Posted By: Mojo Re: Value Reciever for Amps - 01/20/19 10:28 PM
How do you know you're running out of amp power? Did you compare the Denon's channel gain for your M22s and QS8s at your old vs. new place? If for example at your old place they were at 0dB and now they're at +3dB, it means your amp has to supply twice as much power to maintain reference SPL - at least that's how my Onk works because I've tested it. Even at +3dB, that Denon should have enough power unless your room is over-damped. How far from the fronts are you, how big is the room and what is on the floor, ceiling and wall surfaces? Are you able to take any voltage and current readings at the speaker terminals to calculate the power? If you can at least measure voltage using a 200Hz tone you can figure out the power from the impedance curve.