Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Axel Overstating AV Receiver Power - - 12/09/03 07:05 PM
Hello All
I am dismayed to learn that some manufacturers are still over stating their receivers power, are all manufacturers guilty of this do they take us for fools... I work in construction and a 2x4 is a 2x4 and a 2x6 is a 2x6 what is the point of publishing specs if they are false..?
I just bought a yammie rx-v1400 should I return the goddamn thing, yammie claims 7 x 110 but from what I have learned its about 35 per channel whats up?/////
Posted By: spiffnme Re: Overstating AV Receiver Power - - 12/09/03 07:48 PM
*sigh*
Even a 2x4 isn't a 2x4...

In reply to:

Manufactured dimensions depend on the state of manufacture; a surfaced-dry softwood 2x4 is required by the American Softwood Lumber Standard (USDC 1970) to be a minimum of 1.5 inches by 3.5 inches. Actual dimensions are obtained by measuring individual pieces with calipers.

source
Posted By: JimmyTango Re: Overstating AV Receiver Power - - 12/09/03 07:48 PM
does it sound good to you at 35w per channel?

I personally feel they are lieing to us customers, and will no longer buy their product. My previous receiver was a Yamaha 2090.

What matters is how you like the sound. I just do nto liek being lied to, so they no longer get my money(for a receiver, that is).
Posted By: pmbuko Re: Overstating AV Receiver Power - - 12/09/03 07:50 PM
Yup. As I recall, the 2x4 dimension is how they are cut prior to being dried. Shrinkage occurs during the drying process.
Posted By: twodan19 Re: Overstating AV Receiver Power - - 12/09/03 08:35 PM
AXEL, a 10 year old 2x4 is not the same as a 50 year old, or 2 year old 2x4 is it. they surely don't measure 2 inches by 4 inches.
Posted By: Axel Re: Overstating AV Receiver Power - - 12/09/03 08:50 PM
well ok maybe a 2x4 wasnt the best comparison...
and yes there are good and bad 2x4s spf dry and green warped ones so on & so on
you guys are killing me! LOL
cheers