Axiom Home Page
Posted By: skyhawk669 Questions about my new receiver. - 01/24/06 01:27 AM
Hi guys!

I'm a total HT noob and I finally decided to upgrade my lame HTIB (Kenwood). I'm planning to buy some Axiom speakers pretty soon. I have already bought a new receiver, a Yamaha RX-V2500 and it already makes a big difference! I can't believe how much better those little Kenwood speakers sound! Even the little subwoofer has gotten a big boost from it.

The question I have is why is it that I have to set the level close to -20 -15 dB before I reach I level comparable to my old Kenwood receiver (at around -34db). The difference is that with the Yamaha I can keep increasing the sound where the Kenwood would usually shutdown if I try to push it. For instance in Star Wars Episode II, when Padme's ship blows up on landing in Coruscant anything louder than -32dB would make my old receiver shut down.
Now the Yamaha works fine no matter what I throw at it, I'm just wondering why it needs to be set at a higher level before it matches the old one. Any ideas as to why that is?

Thanks,

Sky
Posted By: St_PatGuy Re: Questions about my new receiver. - 01/24/06 02:02 AM
The numbers on the volume are just arbitrary. Don't sweat it. They will hardly match up between manufacturers.

Just be happy your new receiver works well!
Posted By: skyhawk669 Re: Questions about my new receiver. - 01/24/06 02:08 AM
Yeah I'm very happy with it. It works great and I can't wait to get some axioms!
I understand that the numbers won't match up, I just was wondering why the Yamaha needs its level to be that high. What is usually the maximum level on a receiver? 0dB? More? Can you tell I don't know much about receivers lol.

Sky
Posted By: St_PatGuy Re: Questions about my new receiver. - 01/24/06 02:17 AM
Zero is considered "reference" level, but I don't think there is any kind of industry standard to appoint it as such. Usually, by the time you get to "0dB" it's pretty damn loud.