Axiom Home Page
Posted By: weekendwally Maximum SPL at 1kHz - 05/12/06 09:27 PM
I am an engineer developing a microphone system for a cockpit voice recorder. One of the tests required is microphone distortion at 1kHz at 120dB SPL. The distance from the loudspeaker source is not specified. I am not sure if your everyday commercial off the shelf loudspeaker would be capable of delivering this level of pressure at the microphone. If I had a typical sensitivity level of 92dB SPL at 1m what sort of level would one expect at 3" from the loudspeaker? At 1m I would need to drive 1000 watts into the speaker. Any suggestions as to the speaker to use? Must be under 5% distortion.

I also need a speaker that is relatively flat in response, 150Hz to 10kHz capable of producing 94dB SPL with about 2% distortion max.
Posted By: pmbuko Re: Maximum SPL at 1kHz - 05/13/06 02:19 AM
I'm pretty sure an Axiom M80 driven by a capable amp could easily hit 120db at 3" with low distortion. And, as luck would have it, an M80 can handle 1000 watts, too.

Seriously, the M80 is what you're looking for. Buy two, and keep them for music and movies after you're done with the microphone.
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Maximum SPL at 1kHz - 05/13/06 02:43 AM
Peter, master of the questionable requisition.
Posted By: danmagicman7 Re: Maximum SPL at 1kHz - 05/14/06 04:03 AM
Axiom stress tests the M80's at over 1400 Watts.

I'm sure Ian or Alan can chime in and give you some serious statistics on how the axioms perform, distortion and soforth.

They have their own testing chamber, so they may even run a quick test just for you to verify what you are asking. :-)
Posted By: alan Re: Maximum SPL at 1kHz - 05/14/06 03:50 PM
Hello weekendwally,