Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Nick B cd quality downloads - 02/13/10 03:28 PM
As CD's are really on their way out, I realized that I need to find some good download sources. I'm looking for CD quality sound with some good dynamic range. So far, I have all of my music library is in itunes in the Apple Lossless encoding. Since I have a 160 gig. iPod I've had no problem having access my music collection uncompressed (from the original cd). What bitrate should I be looking for? I've looked for high quality download sites and usually they have all of this underground music that I've never even heard of. What are some good sites to get these higher quality downloads? I listed to blues, rock, classic rock and metal.
Posted By: michael_d Re: cd quality downloads - 02/14/10 12:07 AM
Rhapsody steams at a higher bit rate than most, and I'm pretty sure you can download some high quality songs too. I have a subscription, but never bothered to try it or figure out how.
Posted By: jakewash Re: cd quality downloads - 02/16/10 05:00 PM
There have been a few sites posted here in the past offering 24 bit and lower downloads, but I can't seem to find them. I do remember there wasn't much mainstream music though.
Posted By: BobG Re: cd quality downloads - 02/16/10 06:23 PM
I don't know how "low" you are willing to go, but 7digital.com has a large selection of music that can be downloaded at 320 kbps.
Posted By: donlboy Re: cd quality downloads - 02/16/10 07:19 PM
I like HD Tracks , up to 96/24 and pretty good selection.
Posted By: Ya_basta Re: cd quality downloads - 02/16/10 07:38 PM
Dave Matthews Band sells downloadable songs and albums in flac on their website, but I don't know if other bands do the same. If you are looking for music from a high profile band, maybe check out their website as they might do the same.
Posted By: Redo Re: cd quality downloads - 02/16/10 08:31 PM