Axiom Home Page
Posted By: TimP Can Speakers be Too Big for the Room? - 02/16/16 04:13 PM
Any thoughts on this question? I have a pair of M80 V2's in a room 16.5 x 13.4 feet and I cannot seem to get them to sound the way I would like. My amp is a NAD C390DD 150 wpc so I don't think power is an issue.

My gut feel is that I should be using stand-mount speakers to get the source more focused, ideally point-source.
Posted By: Adrian Re: Can Speakers be Too Big for the Room? - 02/16/16 04:42 PM
When you say they don't sound quite the way you like, can you describe what it is you are hearing/not hearing? could be helpful to know what your room is like... is it carpeted or do you have hardwood floors, curtains, bare walls etc? could be a room issue.
Posted By: TimP Re: Can Speakers be Too Big for the Room? - 02/16/16 04:59 PM
Sound is very good, but seems lacking in presence. Like the event is happening down the hall. I'm not good at describing this. It's better/worse depending on program. Orchestral or choral programs are perhaps worst. Jazz vocalists ensembles are pretty good. I've used room eq wizard REW to measure and tune lows. Room is pretty soft. Hard floors about 2 feet around outside with low carpet in center. Walls a bit bare on upper 2/3 rds. Stipled ceiling. No special room treatment.

Maybe I'm just being picky. I don't have a lot of experience auditioning to go on. Need to hear a pair of KEF blades on monoblocks smile
Posted By: Adrian Re: Can Speakers be Too Big for the Room? - 02/16/16 05:04 PM
You could try toeing the speakers in/out slightly as well as moving them out from the wall. Sometimes it's the source mat'l. I've also got M80V2's and certain recordings sound great while some are lacking.
Posted By: TimP Re: Can Speakers be Too Big for the Room? - 02/16/16 05:18 PM
Originally Posted By Adrian