Axiom Home Page
Posted By: lostsailor Two-Way vs. Three-Way Speakers - 03/25/04 01:11 PM
A general question.

Are three-way speakers better sounding than two-way speakers?

I realize that the price point may differ. But, will a three-way speaker produce sound frequency that a two-way cannot reproduce.

Regards

Posted By: SeanF Re: Two-Way vs. Three-Way Speakers - 03/25/04 01:42 PM
I'm no expert but what I know about sound reproduction says that more drivers you have in your system, the more accurate the reproduction will be. One cannot expect a single driver, say a mid-range for example, to be able to move fast enough to generate a wave sufficient to generate higher frequencies (10-15 kHz or higher) than a dedicated tweeter would. Most manufacturers of successful systems typically have three or more (tweeter, mid, woofer) plus if you throw in a Sub, you've added a fourth. I upgraded from a two way Abstract Acoustics 2.1 set that I thought sounded very good, to the M60Ti which sounds amazing. Especially when I did A/B tests, the difference was phenominal.
Posted By: mhorgel Re: Two-Way vs. Three-Way Speakers - 03/25/04 03:06 PM
I would say that a good 2-way speaker will sound better than a bad 3-way speaker, but all other things being equal, with a specialized midrange driver, a 3 way design would be superior because of improved midrange reproduction.

And, as all men know, there's nothing better than a good 3-way! (sorry, couldn't resist)

Mark
Posted By: Ajax Re: Two-Way vs. Three-Way Speakers - 03/25/04 03:12 PM
Officially: Shame on you, Mark

Off the record: ROTFLMAO! I love the surprise of an unexpected double-entendre!
Posted By: Raindance Re: Two-Way vs. Three-Way Speakers - 03/25/04 08:22 PM
That's a hard remark to follow... don't know as discussion about mere drivers can compare.

But I'm pretty sure, for instance, if the M3ti was had an extra M2ti woofer in it,

- It'd be of a slightly lower impedence
- it'd be slightly more efficient