Axiom Home Page
Posted By: HomeDad Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/08/06 05:35 PM
I'm looking to replace my Aperion 532's as my rear surrounds with one of Axioms custom finish products.
Any advice on the three choices I'm looking at, M3's, QS4's or QS8's. Unfortunately because of my setup I can't use the QS's as the side surrounds, and I'm wondering if they will make a difference used as my 7.1 rears, or should I stay with a direct radiating speaker like the M3? I'll be using my existing Omnimount 20's as the mounts. Thanks
Posted By: Tarun Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/08/06 05:38 PM
While I am no expert on the topic, I can tell you that the QS8's blow away anything I have ever heard as a surround speaker. I too have an odd mounting situation, however these things just seem to work with a little bit of spl tweaking.

The quad polar design really makes them rock.

Also note that you can buy the QS stands from Axiom to take full advantage of these...especially if mounting is an issue.

-Tarun
Posted By: bugbitten Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/08/06 06:06 PM
How far away are the rears from listening position?
Posted By: HomeDad Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/08/06 06:52 PM
Both are approx. 10 to 11 ft. away.
Posted By: bugbitten Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/10/06 04:45 PM
At those distances I would go with QS8s. Close enough that the back channels with fill the back of the room with sound. Much farther and I would consider M3s.
Posted By: HomeDad Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/10/06 08:14 PM
Thanks guys, the QS8's were on the top of my list, I think that's the way I will probably go.
Posted By: bugbitten Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/11/06 06:47 PM
Let us know how it goes!
Posted By: HomeDad Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/11/06 07:38 PM
Of course Just trying to decide if I need a custom finish or not, don't know if I can wait 6 weeks
Posted By: F107plus5 Re: Advice on 7.1 speaker choice - 06/12/06 02:53 PM
Quote: