Axiom Home Page
Posted By: spdracer Break in procedure - 08/26/10 03:56 PM
Hi Folks; I'm new to Axiom and this forum,I'm breaking in a pair of M2's that will be used as mains with a sub. I'm currently using them set at large starting with low volumes and have gradually increased the volume over the last three days Where my volume currently is at 38 and my max on my avr is 65 playing a wide spectrum of audio cd's. I'm curious as to what procedures you have used,or if you feel it's necessary? Thanks
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Break in procedure - 08/26/10 03:57 PM
It's not necessary.
Posted By: medic8r Re: Break in procedure - 08/26/10 04:02 PM
Yeah, it's not like it's a car engine. Playing 'em loud at hour 1 is as safe as playing 'em loud at hour 1000, and should get you the same excellent results.

Go ahead and enjoy them.
Posted By: spdracer Re: Break in procedure - 08/26/10 04:35 PM
That puts my mind at ease. Thanks
Posted By: casey01 Re: Break in procedure - 08/26/10 04:43 PM
Regardless of the drivel one hears from some speaker companies AND reviewers about the so-called "break-in" period, what is actually breaking in is your ears, not the speakers.
Posted By: MarkSJohnson Re: Break in procedure - 08/26/10 05:03 PM
Actually, if you're running M2s as "full size" speakers and keep turning up the volume, you'll turn "break-in" to "broke".
Posted By: spdracer Re: Break in procedure - 08/26/10 05:49 PM
Originally Posted By: MarkSJohnson
Actually, if you're running M2s as "full size" speakers and keep turning up the volume, you'll turn "break-in" to "broke".

Exactly why I've played them at very low volume to this point. Never had intention to play them "large" under normal listening,I'll let the sub shoulder the burden.
Posted By: terzaghi Re: Break in procedure - 08/27/10 12:39 AM
I would change them to small with a crossover of about 80 hz or so to the sub.
Posted By: spdracer Re: Break in procedure - 08/27/10 03:44 AM
Originally Posted By: terzaghi