Axiom Home Page
Posted By: MarkyM My Interesting M60 Out Of Box Experience! - 11/24/10 11:17 PM
The M60's arrived safely. Thanks to Axiom for getting them shipped so fast!

FedEx put a nice hole in one of the boxes but the plastic inside was not even torn so no damage done.

I'm glad I'm an Engineer...

Set them up and brought up my Denon 3808 slowly with Sarah McLachlan's Laws Of Illusion CD in Direct mode.

Hmmm...first impression was overall kind of dull...that can't be right...wait a minute, the right channel highs are dull and raspy...tweeter distortion, oh oh.

A quick visual examination of the right channel tweeter showed that the right channel's silver tweeter dome looked crinkly in the left and lower quadrants. The other one was smooth all the way around. Both of the tweeters on my M2's are also smooth all around.

That can't be good, I thought. So much for "Acoustically Perfect" from the Factory Outlet.

I immediately called Noreen at Axiom and she will be shipping a new tweeter out to me on Friday. Excellent Customer Service! Thank You Noreen!!

Drat...there goes the long weekend of listening I had planned...or does it?

I have a pair of 6 month old M2V2's with the V3 tweeters! Good, the supplied allen wrench works for the driver screws as well as the feet!

I swapped the bad tweeter with one of the M2's and voila...Now that's more like it!!! I'm liking these a lot so far! Listening to Mark Knopfler's Sailing To Philadelphia as I type this. Pretty nice bass without my sub on!

Yes, the bad tweeter still sounds bad in the M2.

Further examination of that tweeter shows that whomever the Axiom employee was that was responsible for building that tweeter really must have been having a bad day! It is UGLY!

Man, this really should have been caught in QC. I wonder if Axiom only does spot-checks and does not QC every unit??