Axiom Home Page
does anyone know of one? I don't care if it doesn't play dvd video, just the audio. It would save on cables and having to buy seperate players !
You're looking for what is often called a "universal player". There are quite a few of them around these days. The Denon 2900 is one example (at the more expensive end of the scale) but I believe a few people on this board have the 2900 and are really happy with it.

I think you can get universal players as low as a couple of hundred $$ but don't remember any specifics right now.

http://www.audioholics.com/productreviews/avhardware/DenonDVD-2900-reviewp1.html

[edit] Ahh, here we go. Pioneer 563A and Denon 2200 are more affordable and seem to be well regarded. I have no personal experience with any of these units other than wondering if I should go out and buy one
hi brigman

i had seen the denon - VERY pricey.

the pioneer looks good but no HDCD. Oh well, not big loss, i only have 1 hdcd.

i'll keep looking
ravi- take a look at pioneer's 578a-s. i got one a little while back for ~$120 at crutchfields retail store. its not a super fancy lookin player, but it does all the formats, sounds really good, and puts out a good picture (at least on s-video, i got an old p.o.s. tv that doesnt have component!)
looks like a good intro player, i may pick one up next month.

i wish there was a cheap one with HDCD as well, then it would be complete
I have the Pioneer 563A and it did do a fine job with everything I have thrown at it, until now. Apparently, there are a few DVD Audio discs it will not play, and I received one of these discs as a Christmas present. If you have this player you might want to check online for a list of these before you go out and buy any DVD audio discs. I know it will not play Neil Young's Greendale.
Is that one of those silly dualdiscs? If so, not much WILL play them, from what I've read (since they're too thick.)