Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Graeme L Sub boom - 12/17/08 06:30 PM
Didn't know what to call this title, anyway I was wondering why the sub seems louder in another room?

We have the radio running all the time when not watching TV. In the lounge where the receiver is, the volume is quite low as is the sound from the sub.

But when we go to bedroom which is located across a small hallway approx 30 feet from the sub with the door closed (or open) the sub is quite a bit louder and boomy.
Posted By: Murph Re: Sub boom - 12/17/08 06:38 PM
As a total non expert, I'm going to guess that your primary listening room is similar to mine in that the shape and other variables actually cause the LFE soundwaves to reflect back on each other and in effect, cancel themselves out to some degree. In the adjoining room, there is less cancellation so what you are hearing is closer to the true output level of the sub.

The big wide soundwaves of LFE usually have no issues traveling through walls so the wall is actually acting as much less of a deterrent than is the particular shape and other attributes of the main room. The result, is that it actually IS louder in the adjoining room.
Posted By: alan Re: Sub boom - 12/17/08 06:47 PM
Hi Graeme L,

Glad to hear you've got the sub up and working. What you are hearing is likely due to a couple of factors. You may simply be hearing some of the very long wavelengths of low frequencies (some are 40 feet long) better because you are farther away from the subwoofer.

The other factor at play is room modes, which result from the varying dimensions of the spaces in your home. These will interact with low frequency wavelengths and cause areas of much more intense bass and areas of cancellation, where you may hear only a little bass.