Axiom Home Page
Gday all. I've been reading through this forum for months and I am the proud new owner of a pair of m80s v3s, pair of Qs8 v3s and have a vp180 coming shortly (just got the confirmation from Noreen about shipping as I was writing this !!! Woo Hoo!). I am extactic with the sound quality so far paired with an Onkyo TX-NR5007. Im certainly not a noob when it comes to quality sound as this is my 5th home theater setup and I have had my share of high end cans with many different amps and DACs.

I am not an expert at bass management however and I will be forking over major cash to get the best LFE my $2500 can buy. Not being able to afford two ep800s, I was hoping you guys could help me out in making the best decision for my setup. The room is not done yet but will be a dedicated home theater room just big enough to properly fit my 120inch screen for my Epson u8500. I am more concerned about getting bass you can FEEL, meaning under 20hz. I am thinking dimensions somewhere in the range of 15'x9' with 9' ceilings give or take. I tried to look through the forum but did not find this topic in any threads... I apologize if my question has been covered. Peace smile
Btw, also picking up another pair of Qs8s
If you're looking for depth, go with the single EP800. Not that that the EP500s won't supply that, but the 800 will supply more.

Congrats, btw.
Thanks! Im super stoked with my setup. There is a clarity I thought I could only get with my Grado RS1's or Akg 702 headphones...

That is pretty much what I was thinking Re the ep800.. Going with one and really concentrating on the ideal room placement.
How big is your room? Not much LFE content out there under 25hz, so the 800's lower reach potential may not be as useful as a second sub.
Posted By: CV Re: Subwoofer- the monster EP800 or two EP500s? - 08/05/10 04:25 AM