Axiom Home Page
Posted By: markmd M80 v2 clipped speakers? Are they broken? - 02/14/11 10:01 PM
I am new to the whole audio world so forgive me for my stupidity. I recently bought some axiom m80's and I hooked them up to a technics sa-424 1981 4ohm 2x50watt RMS receive with 12 gauge wire.

I proceeded to play music of my computer to the receiver at medium levels in my 12x14 room where the speakers are placed about 1 meter apart on each side from me.

I didn't hear any weird popping noises or anything odd coming from the speakers but I'm afraid I may have damaged them after using my old receiver. Is there any way I can test my M80's to make sure I didn't damage them? Hopefully I didn't clip the speakers at the level I was playing them at.

Any insight would be appreciated. And yes I have a 500 watt emotiva coming to replace the receiver.
If you didn't hear anything odd, why do you think you damaged the speakers?

It isn't speakers that "clip", but an amplifier that doesn't have enough power to reproduce the signal at the level being requested. More simply, if you turn the volume up too loud, and the receiver/amp can't deliver what you're asking, then you may experience clipping.

Hard enough clipping for long enough time will end up damaging speakers. But unless you did something like that, there's little to be worried about.
Posted By: J. B. Re: M80 v2 clipped speakers? Are they broken? - 02/14/11 10:11 PM
i would have loved to answer that one, but you're too fast, CN. ;-)
What preamp or receiver are you going to use with the Emotiva amp? An amp can't replace a receiver, it gives you the amplification but you will still need a receiver or a preamp.
Posted By: J. B. Re: M80 v2 clipped speakers? Are they broken? - 02/14/11 10:37 PM
markmd, you might find this informative:
http://www.peavey.com/support/technotes/

in the "power amplifiers" section, click on this one:
How Much Power For My Speakers? - PDF Format (229KB)