Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Adelin awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/28/11 06:27 PM
Hello i just bought a pair of axiom m80.
I need 44,3 feet of cable per speacker.(88,6 total lenght of cable)

That's a long cable run i know about it.

I think i will attach them to the wall with cable raceways or maybe special screws.

should i go for 14 awg gauge in wall axiom cable or bulk 12 ?

Thanks a lot.
Posted By: CatBrat Re: awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/28/11 06:32 PM
I'm not a cable expert, but here's my $.02.. I'd use the Axiom 12 gauge cable. It's good and it's flexable. I'd buy a little more than what you measured. Nothing like later finding out you really needed about 6 inches longer. You might find a better way to run the wire that takes a couple of feet more. If I need 3 feet, I buy 5 instead. More options later down the road.
Posted By: Adelin Re: awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/28/11 06:38 PM
i already added 3,3,280839895013123 for each cables just in case i make mistakes cutting and adjusting those for my speackers and amp.

12,50m needed +1m extra cable.(x2)

it's just black cables on white walls if i don't use a white cable raceway should look kinda strange.

Thhanks CatBrat
Posted By: CatBrat Re: awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/28/11 06:49 PM
If at all possible, I would fish the cable through the walls in any vertical location. Perhaps coming out just above the baseboards near the floor.

Or perhaps use some sort of wall plate with connecters to plug the speakers into.
Posted By: J. B. Re: awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/28/11 07:01 PM
you can't go wrong with 12 gauge.
Posted By: Adelin Re: awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/28/11 07:19 PM
My room baseboards are full of electrical wires (230v 60hz) that is a bit boring.

Posted By: Chevy Re: awg gauge , cable advice needed - 12/31/11 05:22 PM
12 awg is the best for our buck !!!
is used 12 awg everywhere on my HT system.