Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
5 registered (Socketman, craigsub, CV, Ajax, Ken.C), 24 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13364 Members
11 Forums
23095 Topics
408344 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17857
pmbuko 16323
SirQuack 13356
CV 11397
MarkSJohnson 11072
Meanwhile On Facebook

For all of you music lovers and studio geeks, this is absolutely amazing! https...

Monday morning grin! (y)

Time to hang up our skis . . . and rock our M22-in-walls while we wait for the m...

󾠔 It's the end of a long, long era at Axiom today. Brent Tombari is retiring fr...

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#403435 - 04/22/14 01:31 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Socketman Online   content
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1300
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Old house but has new panels (square D ) for up and down. 2 bedrooms are the same breaker , I have had to run a extension cord down the hall since both rooms have plasma's and computers etc and often blew the breaker. The main living room hasn't blown a breaker ever but I know not to push it. We also have a crappy power company and pesky critters that get into transformers so the power goes out or browns out often , more so in the summer.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#403479 - 04/22/14 07:50 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: dakkon]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 791
Loc: Toronto
Originally Posted By: dakkon
I have 2 EP600'S, 5 channels of krell class A power that doubles down to 4ohm @500w, and 2 channels that double down to 2ohm @1200w.

All of this is on a single 15A breaker.. The HT has never tripper the breaker. The real world power draw is much less than people assume..


I totally agree, the idea and worry about power overload in A/V systems is highly overblown. For three years now I have been running a 9.2 system currently consisting of a Yamaha Pre-Pro, 2 Outlaw multi-channel power amps at 125 watts/ch(all equally driven)and FOUR subs ALL running on a normal 15 amp circuit. A friend of mine who is an electrician measured the draw and even cranked up to the maximum listening levels, I would be drawing maybe 5 amps at most on the circuit not worth the extra 250 bucks for a dedicated circuit that I once considered installing that really, in the end, was not required.


Edited by casey01 (04/22/14 07:53 PM)

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.