Rate Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 9 10
Best speakers for Yamaha 1400 series
#26285 11/24/03 11:31 PM
Isabel Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Hello guys. I just bought the Yamaha 1400 series and just wondering what is the best speakers that would go with it. My room is about 15'X 20' and I would like the tower speakers for fronts and I would like to spend around $1500. I will mostly watch movies and 30% music. I'm a newbie and luckily I stumbled into this site. Thanks.

Re: Best speakers for Yamaha 1400 series
#26286 11/24/03 11:49 PM
shareholder in the making
Welcome, Isabel, and excellent receiver choice. If you mean about $1,500 for 5 speakers plus sub, and want towers, I'd suggest the M60s plus an M2 vertical center and QS8 surrounds. Add to that your choice of subwoofer, if you want.

-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.

#26287 11/25/03 01:21 AM
Isabel Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Thanks JohnK. I'm still shopping around for good speakers on the $1500 range. I think the axioms are good speakers based on what I read on some bulletin boards. I don't have any hands on experience with them so I'm asking for opinions. Are there any other good speakers out there or can I make combinations of all other speakers? Thanks for the welcome John and hope to build this HT soon.

#26288 11/25/03 01:57 AM
Isabel Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Oh by the way, what exactly is the power amp and the pre amplifier? Do I need these or can Yamaha 1400 do all the job. Can I add these later on also? What are the advantages of having these amps? I'm sorry I have to ask these questions cause I'm don't know too much about electronics. Thanks again.

#26289 11/25/03 02:21 AM
M
mwc Offline
aficionado
aficionado
M