Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980

Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
0 registered (), 27 Guests and 9 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
13,385 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,238 Topics
411,662 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17936
pmbuko 16359
SirQuack 13357
CV 11476
MarkSJohnson 11220
Meanwhile On Facebook
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#390755 - 03/08/13 12:14 PM Re: Receiver and VP150 or Soundbar [Re: nickbuol]
dakkon Offline

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1849
nick, are you still trying to stay in the low couple hundred $$ range?

#390761 - 03/08/13 01:17 PM Re: Receiver and VP150 or Soundbar [Re: nickbuol]
nickbuol Offline

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 4762
Loc: Marion, IA
Thanks brwsaw, but no. (LOL) I have the VP150 just sitting there, the VP180 is in the theater room next door.

Tom, I wonder about that switch. Since the inputs are:
HDMI - Dish Network
HDMI - XBox 360
HDMI - Blu-Ray Player

I could use that to switch between the XBox and Blu-Ray Player since only one of those would ever be on at any given moment, and then have the Dish Network connection go right to the TV since that receiver can be on/off at any given moment depending on what other TV is accessing it.

Maybe that is the best bet for now. Spend $20 or less (have to cover shipping) and have a working solution for the HDMI part, and then, once we start using the room more, re-evaluate our financial situation and see what makes more sense.

I still think that some day I will have a better use for my VP150 than the often suggested flower pot. LOL
2-M60s, VP180, VP150, 4-QS8s, 4-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45

#390763 - 03/08/13 01:27 PM Re: Receiver and VP150 or Soundbar [Re: nickbuol]
tomtuttle Offline

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8431
Loc: Tacoma
Well, you could get a 3-way switch, I'm sure. That might be "better"; I was just spitballing on a cheap solution. In my secondary systems, I'm doing the switching in the TV instead of the receiver, and I kind of like that. It seems to simplify the overall UI. I'm not hung up on that particular switch as much as I am suggesting to solve your HDMI input shortage and do the switching in the TV instead of doing the switching in a receiver or soundbar.

Once you've done that, you could take the single audio output (either digital or analog) from the TV and still do whatever you want with it - like add powered stereo speakers or power your VP150 with a t-amp or something. I suppose it would depend if your TV volume control "works" on its analog and/or digital outputs.
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.