Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
pioneer vsx-d914k + m50's
#115296 11/08/05 12:16 AM
OP Offline
axiom people - i've been lurking on this forum for a few weeks, and i'd first like to compliment all of you. this forum is friendly and informative, especially in the world of HT/audio forums.

i am just beginning to put together my first (semi-serious) HT/audio system. at the moment, i have a pioneer vsx-d914k reciever, which works well with my current setup (too low-quality to mention without being embarrased, other than the reciever). i cannot afford to buy everything at once, but am considering the axiom m50's and v150. the room they're going into is 12 x 20 with no hallways or other openings except the door. most people who post on this board seem to have a much nicer reciever than my D914K, and im wondering if i'd be getting into trouble with the m50's. the last thing i want is to buy a great pair of speakers that sound bad because i dont have a good-enough reciever. unfortunately, i can't really afford to buy both at once... should i upgrade my reciever before even thinking about speakers, or can i safely pull the trigger on the m50's?

i was also wondering if anybody has had any first-hand experience with axiom factory seconds. though they carry the same warranty and are "functionally perfect, " i'm a little hesitant. then again, saving the cash would be nice. thanks

Re: pioneer vsx-d914k + m50's
#115297 11/08/05 01:11 AM
T
axiomite
axiomite
T
Greetings, and welcome -

I was cracking up at your username, trying to figure out what mul-escent means. Oh, Mule Scent. Got it. Care to expound?

Your receiver will be beyond fine. It's modern and capable, and will sound great with any Axiom speakers. No worries. You'll love the M50's. I am one of those that believes it is very difficult to hear the difference in solid state electronics without spending quite a bit of money.