Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
1 registered (klarakos), 67 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13296 Members
11 Forums
22827 Topics
403279 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17742
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11146
MarkSJohnson 10833
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 5 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#122759 - 01/23/06 02:13 PM Re: CD changers again
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8268
Loc: Tacoma
If it is like mine (I think I have the CD455 and 355, not the DVD version), it uses a cable with a mono 1/8" plug on each end.

I just keep a little spreadsheet with the slot assignments.

btw, it looks like Escient has recently introduced new products that, while not cheap, integrate their systems with Sony megachangers. That might be the ticket if you've got the cash.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#122760 - 01/23/06 08:44 PM Re: CD changers again
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
Oh man....I apologize guys, I should have stated 1/8" instead of 1/4" for the size of the plug. Thanks for setting me straight, my mind certainly gets in the 'disengaged' mode at times and obviously this was one of those moments.

Sorry about that Mike, Adrien and Tom ... my bad.
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#122761 - 01/24/06 08:23 PM Re: CD changers again
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3875
Loc: Up yonder
Aw hell, don't worry about it Rick. We realize your getting up there....

The 1/8" mini plug cable worked. Don't know what I was thinking and bought two. Then it dawned on me that two ports are needed to daisy chain several Sony components.

Started to load the second unit. Dreading inputing all CD info into the machines. UGGG What really scares me is to take all that time, and then loose power for a day and all the data. - we have power outages here from time to time and it's a real possibility. Or worse, I may move some day.

But, I'm really liking the thought of having around 12,000 songs at random. Just loading these things I'm finding soooo many CD's that I haven't heard in years.
_________________________


Top
#122762 - 01/24/06 08:32 PM Re: CD changers again
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
>>> We realize your getting up there.... <<<<

Getting there Mike? I've been 'there' for years ... that is a 'good thing', right?

I don't believe you'll lose any of your stored data with a power loss Mike. I've unplugged my units, gone through power outages for days (hurricanes) on in and have never lost one single alphabet of stored data. Loading the data can be a tedious job, but well worth it in the end. Must drive you ADHD folks crazy, huh?

Have fun ... youngster!
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#122763 - 01/28/06 01:34 PM Re: CD changers again
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3875
Loc: Up yonder
Well they’re loaded. Tried them last night in no-delay mode. I’m very impressed. I’m going to absolutely love these things.

I put all the disks on Excel, and after four hours of that crap, I now know that I will not, not ever, try to load the info into the changers. I’m going to give that PC interface software a try. I spent some time at the Panther web sight and the other links you provided (Tom). I’m a little confused though…….

I hate to keep bugging you about all this, but please help me understand how it all ties together and works. The changers don’t have an RS232 port that I can see. But that interface gizmo is RS 232.

Which package should I get? I’m running XP. What else?

By my silly questions, you can probably tell that I don’t read instructions very well.

_________________________


Top
#122764 - 01/28/06 01:42 PM Re: CD changers again
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8268
Loc: Tacoma
The Black Box SAVR thing has an RS-232 port to go to the computer, and then it connects to the changers via the same type of cable you used to connect them to each other (1/8" mono plug cable). Each changer has two of the Sony AI II (of whatever they call that proprietary serial interface) ports on the back. So, mine are connected to each other, and then the "master" is connected to the black box which is then connected to the computer. You have to have BOTH the software and the SAVR device.

Still, it was worth it to me, even though I mostly use the changers without the playlist computer software. Having the software look at each disk, look it up, download the tracklist, artist, album title, album art, etc. was cool. Being able to then upload the artist and album title information to the changers was worth the price of admission to me. If not for that, all my disks would still say "Disk **123". I do enough data entry everywhere else in my life.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#122765 - 01/28/06 02:04 PM Re: CD changers again
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10833
Loc: Central NH
Links?

Never mind...Googled it!


Edited by MarkSJohnson (01/28/06 02:06 PM)
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#122766 - 01/28/06 03:01 PM Re: CD changers again
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3875
Loc: Up yonder
Thanks Tom.

$200 for the box and software. Man, his proud of his software.....
_________________________


Top
#122767 - 01/28/06 03:02 PM Re: CD changers again
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17742
Loc: NoVA
That's just about enough to make me really interested in one of those big changers. Unfortunately, none of them are universal. So no dice.

Anyone know if Onkyo's planning to update the DV-CP802 anytime soon? I'm having a hard time finding the thing online. Not that I can buy it right now, but I'm curious.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#122768 - 01/31/06 08:54 AM Re: CD changers again - Alan's post
coltrane Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 06/20/05
Posts: 25
Hey gang,

I just bought two CX-355s and daisy-chained them together. I did this so I could random play single tracks from my entire collection loaded on both units so one unit plays while the other shuffles. It works great when I let it run undisturbed, however when I try to advance (skip over) a track that's playing the system doesn't switch to the other player but instead makes me wait while it shuffles to a new CD on the active unit.

Alan writes..."I just hit the "next disc" or next track button on the remote and it cues up a new random selection.

That's true with my setup, but it doesn't switch to the player that's ready to go. I'm running "no delay" and "all discs shuffle."

Does anyone know if I can get around this? Thanks in advance.


Top
Page 5 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.