Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
0 registered (), 125 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13322 Members
11 Forums
22897 Topics
404611 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17782
pmbuko 16280
SirQuack 13337
CV 11208
MarkSJohnson 10900
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 The first review of the LFR880s is out! "If you are adding or upgrading stere...

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#151198 - 11/13/06 11:59 AM making Wave files for novalogic maps
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
I have been making maps for novalogic games. Comanche 4 and Delta force black hawk down. Whwn I play them I have no sound or waves files to simalate the player talking to team mates or to HQ's or and thing like that.

I'm trying to get some ideas about how to create waves file like them to add to my maps. for game play.

any one PLEASE have some ideas.

You can email me at bigjoe11a@gmail.com or IM me in yahoo messnger bigjoe11a@yahoo.com

Thanks

Top
#151199 - 11/13/06 01:04 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: Bigjoe]
BrenR Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/10/03
Posts: 3602
Loc: Winnipeg MB Canada
You mean to create a wave file at all or to give it the crackling effect that it's being broadcast over a 2-way radio?

Bren R.

Top
#151200 - 11/13/06 01:31 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: BrenR]
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
Yes, heres a small sample

command 5 1, Do you copy. Over
5 1 command, Yes we copy over.

I just want to be able to make wave files like the ones they made for the maps that come with the games. they don't have to sound just like them, just so that game is more interesting to play. that way players will have a better idea about whats going on and what to do.

Top
#151201 - 11/13/06 11:29 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: Bigjoe]
BrenR Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/10/03
Posts: 3602
Loc: Winnipeg MB Canada
Plug a mic into the mic connector on your computer soundcard (it's usually red, your speaker one should be green), open sound recorder (if you can't find it on your start bar, go to START|Run and type "sndrec32" and it'll pop up. To use it, press the record button (red circle) and say what you want into the mic, hit stop at the end. Then go to File|Save and name the WAV file something you'll understand somewhere you can find it. Hit File|New to start a new sound, and repeat for as many as you need.

Easy as pie. You'll probably find you're a pretty crappy voice actor though. I don't even do my own business voicemail messages anymore... I use a digitized text-to-speech process.

Bren R.

Top
#151202 - 11/14/06 05:21 AM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: BrenR]
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
Thats what I did before. And how to I change the voice so it sounds more like a pro. and how do I add the affects like on a 2 way radio. My voice sucks

Top
#151203 - 11/14/06 10:44 AM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: Bigjoe]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16280
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
What you need is an audio editor. Audacity is a full-featured editor, that is also free. What more could you ask? Here's a quick sample that achieves the effect I think you're looking for that I was able to throw together in a couple minutes:

radio-chatter.mp3
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#151204 - 11/14/06 03:17 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: pmbuko]
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
Yes, thats what I wanted. how did you create that file and can I do the same thing in wave format. and I'm having problems downloading the software. is there some where else I can download it from.

Wow thanks for your help

Top
#151205 - 11/14/06 03:22 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: Bigjoe]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16280
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
Yeah, Audacity can handle a bunch of sound formats including WAV. I just made it an mp3 to minimize the file size.

Try this direct download link.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#151206 - 11/14/06 03:39 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: pmbuko]
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
That doesn't work. I downloaded a old ver 1.2.4b I guess it's better then nothing, Can you send me a step by step tutorial on what you did, and do you have any idea how many voices are avaliable in this software. and thanks again

Top
#151207 - 11/14/06 04:34 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: Bigjoe]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16280
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
The software doesn't include voices. You'll need to record your own voice, then play with the effects filters and noise generator to get the effect you want. I don't have a tutorial. Just play around with it. It's not too hard.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#151208 - 11/14/06 04:46 PM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: pmbuko]
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
This is a software package that I was playing with over a month ago. And I still couldn't get any thing to work, ok, thanks any way. what I'm looking for is some thing that will change the voice and let me add the effects to it. I even try some text to speech programs. Thats what I want to do is change my voice(s) so that it sounds better and more like a pro. Just so I can make new maps for my games with sound so that players will have some idea about whats going on with

out having to look at the bottom of the screen to read the input from the command base or from who ever.

again thanks for tring




Edited by Bigjoe (11/14/06 04:51 PM)

Top
#151209 - 11/15/06 08:59 AM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: Bigjoe]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16280
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I'll tell you right now that text to speech isn't really going to cut it. If you don't like your voice, can you get one of your friends to handle the lines?
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#151210 - 11/15/06 10:52 AM Re: making Wave files for novalogic maps [Re: pmbuko]
Bigjoe Offline
regular

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 7
Quote:

I'll tell you right now that text to speech isn't really going to cut it. If you don't like your voice, can you get one of your friends to handle the lines?




Ok No there voices don't seem to work. How ever I did find another program that called Dragon Naturally speaking. My friend has it and I was going to give it a try. He tols me that it's the best software for what I want to use it for.

Thanks again



Edited by Bigjoe (11/15/06 10:54 AM)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.