Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: OT: Drummers out there, advice needed.
SirQuack #159815 02/25/07 05:48 AM
S
enthusiast
enthusiast
S
hey there,

kid wants to play the drums eh? awesome! quick background: i've been playing for just over 20 years now. have done everything from teaching, to session work, to a small tour across Canada. if the kid has rhythm, let him play! if he doesn't, you can't teach it. he'll just get frustrated, and you'll want to throw the drums out the door.

#1 - get kid a practice pad and some sticks.
#2 - get kid some lessons.

the teacher will be able to judge the kids aptitude for playing and should, within a lesson or two, be able to give you a thumbs up, or down.

if everything looks like it's a-ok, I'd highly recommend getting a used kit from a local drum shop or music store. most music stores will sell their rental kits at extremely discounted prices. make sure they either throw in new heads or give you a discount on a set.

if your kid is a natural, and shows signs of becoming the next Neil Peart or Mike Portnoy you can't go wrong by investing some money on something the kid can play on and grow into over the years.

my 1st kit was a junker; Pearl Export, made in Taiwan stuff, but still have it. it gets carted to gigs once in a while. but I got my 2nd kit about 15 years ago and it has been my workhorse ever since. it's a Yamaha Maple Custom. it has a beautiful sound. the Export kit, and low-end kits like it, can be difficult to tune and find the sweet spot of each tom. The Yamaha (and other higher end kits from just about any reputable manufacturer -- DW, Sonor, Tama, Pearl, Ludwig, etc...) have a nice tone and resonance that simply sings. That flat, dead sound will have your kid, along with you and your neighbors, wanting to mute them in no time. of course this is completely subjective and your mileage will vary.