Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (MarkSJohnson, Wid), 66 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13322 Members
11 Forums
22895 Topics
404598 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17781
pmbuko 16279
SirQuack 13336
CV 11208
MarkSJohnson 10899
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 The first review of the LFR880s is out! "If you are adding or upgrading stere...

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#218516 - 08/20/08 02:51 PM 160GB PS3
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
The 160GB PS3 coming in Nov. PS3
That's a lot of memory, I'm barely using my 20GB.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#218565 - 08/21/08 12:00 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: HomeDad]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11208
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Considering you can swap out the hard drives yourself, I think Sony should focus on adding back in features instead of upping hard drive sizes.

Top
#218566 - 08/21/08 12:09 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: CV]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7047
Loc: Canada
 Quote:
Considering you can swap out the hard drives yourself

You know, it just struck me that this is such an un-Sony-like thing to do. Usually they want to squeeze every last penny out of you.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#218567 - 08/21/08 12:16 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: fredk]
SlamKeys Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 08/13/08
Posts: 20
Loc: Houston, TX
So I can take out my 40GB original drive and simply put a bigger one in? Where is this documented?
_________________________
I do mind. The Dude minds. This will not stand. This aggression will not stand man.

M60|VP150|QS8

Top
#218568 - 08/21/08 12:27 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: SlamKeys]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11208
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
There are removal/replacement instructions in the "Safety and Support" booklet included with the PS3. It must be a SATA 2.5" internal drive.

I haven't felt the need to do this yet, but it's nice to know I can do it if I want to.

Top
#218573 - 08/21/08 02:20 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: SlamKeys]
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5214
Loc: Los Angeles
 Originally Posted By: SlamKeys
So I can take out my 40GB original drive and simply put a bigger one in? Where is this documented?


You never cracked open the user manual did you? LOL! A real man! \:\) <insert Tim Taylor grunts here>
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#218584 - 08/21/08 08:06 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: spiffnme]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4848
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Yeah, and you are paying a $100 premium for the extra 80 gigs.

No thanks.
_________________________
-David

Top
#218610 - 08/21/08 12:12 PM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: terzaghi]
Ascension Offline
veteran

Registered: 10/30/03
Posts: 128
Loc: Hutchinson, KS.
So will this model have backward compatability and SACD? I'm having trouble finding the sony model that will still do that.
_________________________
2 = M60,4 = QS8's,1 = VP150,1 = EP350,1 = EP500
HK247
Optoma HD70,110" DIY screen
Xbox360 & PS3

Top
#218612 - 08/21/08 12:19 PM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: Ascension]
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
I don't think so, since Sony isn't putting it in their newer 80GB units.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#218613 - 08/21/08 12:21 PM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: HomeDad]
thefwam Offline
local

Registered: 03/04/08
Posts: 229
Loc: Utah, USA
The news release that I read said that both the new 80 GB and 160 GB would be the current 40 GB model just with a bigger HDD.
_________________________
Steve

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.