Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
6 registered (CV, tomtuttle, brwsaw, J. B., richeydog, JBG), 103 Guests and 22 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12704 Members
11 Forums
22684 Topics
400486 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17696
pmbuko 16224
SirQuack 13311
CV 11060
MarkSJohnson 10678
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#227975 - 11/01/08 05:18 AM Audyssey set up thread
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10394
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Just hought I would bring this to the attention of the many owners of Audyssey equiped avr's we have here. This is a link to a post in the Audyssey thread at avsforum and deals with setting up Audyssey.

Link
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#227983 - 11/01/08 09:13 AM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: jakewash]
Joe_in_SC Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/16/04
Posts: 306
Loc: Charleston, SC
Thanks, that's an excellent article. When I first got my receiver, I used Audyssey to set things up. I wasn't really thrilled with the results, so after some recent posts here I turned it off and liked the sound much better. Now I'm thinking that I should reconsider and spend the time to tweak the Audyssey settings a bit more.

If I run Audyssey, then use Room EQ Wizard, would it be as simple as going back into the receiver equalizer settings and adjusting the appropriate frequency sliders?
_________________________
I started out with nothing & I've still got most of it left
M60 VP160 QS8 EP350
M22 VP100
Algonquins

Top
#227995 - 11/01/08 01:26 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Joe_in_SC]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4840
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I have been thinking about re-running audyssey here as well.. thanks for the link.
_________________________
-David

Top
#228004 - 11/01/08 03:48 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: terzaghi]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 3974
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I will definitely be running Audyssey again, because I'm assuming that I might have got undesirable results placing the microphone on my sofa with the wall directly behind it causing additional reflections which is stated not to do-"If the seat back is a few inches behind the microphone, this will cause additional reflections". I don't imagine this will cure my LFE problems, but making the other recommended subwoofer adjustments just might.

Maybe someone could post their results after rerunning Audyssey.

Thanks for the link!
_________________________
I dream of finding a really hot girlfriend that's mute!

Top
#228037 - 11/01/08 10:12 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Joe_in_SC]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10307
Joe, if what you mean is that you'd run the Audyssey room EQ and then run the REW with the expectation of using its results to "tweak" the Audyssey EQ with the receiver's manual equalization settings, that can't be accomplished. The Audyssey EQ is entirely separate from the rather simple manual EQ provision and they can't be used together. It's either using the Audyssey EQ results or turning those off and using the relatively crude manual settings(or no EQ).
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#228038 - 11/01/08 10:19 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: JohnK]
Joe_in_SC Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/16/04
Posts: 306
Loc: Charleston, SC
Thanks John, that's what I was referring to. I didn't realize they were discrete settings. I'm going to give Audyssey another try tomorrow and see if I can get some better results.
_________________________
I started out with nothing & I've still got most of it left
M60 VP160 QS8 EP350
M22 VP100
Algonquins

Top
#228107 - 11/02/08 01:16 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Joe_in_SC]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3822
Loc: Up yonder
John,

The 3808 allows you to “copy curve”. What all is included in that curve, I do not know. I believe it’s only seven points along the graph and all Audyssey filters are removed. I tried this function for a while but there was something missing, no matter how much I tweaked it. As I’ve stated elsewhere, I use Audyssey, but I have the L/R bypassed, and I also bump up the center channel 2 DB over all others. I run the LFE pretty close to where the room calibration left it, but I always use the meter and set LFE as close to an average as I can get of 5 DB over the remaining channels (with a 3 DB ave over the center).

One thing I notice with Audyssey active, is bass and LFE seams more enveloping as if I was in the middle of it. When I disable Audyssey, the bass and LFE is more directional. Obviously, my room and my personal preferences are different from anyone else. That is why I always encourage others to give it a try before following the herd that has decided Audyssey is junk.
_________________________


Top
#228131 - 11/02/08 05:02 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: michael_d]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 3974
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
 Originally Posted By: mdrew
John,

I run the LFE pretty close to where the room calibration left it, but I always use the meter and set LFE as close to an average as I can get of 5 DB over the remaining channels (with a 3 DB ave over the center).






Could you please explain how you do this, I'm going to try to recalibrate Audyssey tomorrow.

Thanks
_________________________
I dream of finding a really hot girlfriend that's mute!

Top
#228149 - 11/02/08 08:14 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 3974
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Nevermind, I read the post again and realized that it was a silly question that I already knew the answer to.
_________________________
I dream of finding a really hot girlfriend that's mute!

Top
#228157 - 11/02/08 09:43 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
Hansang Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/07/07
Posts: 575
Loc: New York
Read the FAQ on AVS on how to calibrate your Audyssey. For example, after taking the first reading, check your LFE (sub) trims. i.e. let it calculate after the first reading to check out where Audyssey set the trims to. Use the sub's volume to try and bring it down to zero as possible.

Also, I used six instead of the prescribed 8 locations and the sound is incredibly good. And if you turn on Dynamic EQ, WOW!!! what a difference that (feature upgrade) makes. It took me about 4 or 5 different Audyssey runs before I nailed it.
_________________________
--
Denon 3808, EPIC80/500 Speakers

Top
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.