Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
4 registered (Wid, brwsaw, wschwartz, Ken.C), 77 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13322 Members
11 Forums
22895 Topics
404597 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17781
pmbuko 16279
SirQuack 13336
CV 11208
MarkSJohnson 10899
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 The first review of the LFR880s is out! "If you are adding or upgrading stere...

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

Page 4 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#228358 - 11/04/08 11:59 AM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: michael_d]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4022
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I am going to remove the ground loop screw and rerun Audyssey tomorrow, just one question, where is the screw located? It mentions it in the manual but it doesn't show where it is.

Thanks
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#228364 - 11/04/08 12:21 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3270
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Look at "step 8" on the following online manual (right next to the balanced line in).
http://www.axiomaudio.com/global/downloads/3/EP500600.pdf
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
Audiobytes! 2M22! 2VP150!

Top
#228369 - 11/04/08 12:34 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: EFalardeau]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4022
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Thanks, I looked over the manual twice and saw "step 8" but I failed to notice it highlighted on the back of the subwoofer diagram. Must be the man-manual thing in me LOL. Must brush up on those skills.
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#228382 - 11/04/08 01:57 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
demetman Offline
old hand

Registered: 04/03/08
Posts: 72
Loc: NJ
Hi guys, I must have screwed something up after running Audyssey yesterday. The results were very poor(probrably due to improper mic placement. I scrapped the results that Audysses produced and attempted to re-run today. When I plugged the mic into the input on my 3808 Audyssey did not automatically start. After trying to run Audyssey through set up it says no mic or speaker. I must have changed a setting in my reciever that is not allowing me to run Audyssey but I can't figure out what it is. Any help is greatly appreciated.
_________________________
Demetrios

Top
#228399 - 11/04/08 03:22 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: michael_d]
myrison Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/03/08
Posts: 1898
Loc: Austin, TX
 Originally Posted By: mdrew
Even with the sub that high, there is enough trim in the 3808 to compensate with the sub at 50%. I believe the 3808 will go to a -30 db with the LFE channel.


After digging around a bit, I'm fairly sure that on my 3808, I only have the flexibility to go down to -12 dB. Just in case anyone else is in this situation and fruitlessly searching for how to get down to -30 dB, you're not alone. \:\)

Note that I haven't updated firmware in awhile, so that could be my problem.

Jason
_________________________
Epic 80-800: HG Cherry | HT Pics

Top
#228402 - 11/04/08 03:33 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: myrison]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4022
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I've never upgraded the firmware on my 3808. If I have the same problems after running Audyssey again tomorrow (subpar LFE results), do you think a firmware update might rectify my problem? If I checked what firmware version is currently installed, is there anywhere online that I can find out how dated it is, or would that require a phone call to Denon?

I can only go down to -12 dB also Jason.
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#228403 - 11/04/08 03:39 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
myrison Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/03/08
Posts: 1898
Loc: Austin, TX
_________________________
Epic 80-800: HG Cherry | HT Pics

Top
#228409 - 11/04/08 03:54 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: myrison]
demetman Offline
old hand

Registered: 04/03/08
Posts: 72
Loc: NJ
Ok, I found that I had selected AUX1 and after selecting MIC in the menu I was able to run Audyssey. I am very happy with the results and my Axiom system sounds amazing now! Not that they didn't sound good before calibration, it all just blends so well now. The only thing that looks strange is the 23.1ft distance that Audyssey calculated my sub to. The sub is only 12ft from the reciever and 6ft from the main listening position. It is firing into the rear right corner so maybe boundary effect is playing a roll in Audyssey calculations? It also set the sub channel level to -12dB. My crosover settings are center channel 60Hz, suround A(QS8) 120Hz and nothing listed for fronts. In the menu it says advanced for fronts. M60's were set to large and VP150 and QS8's were set to small. Please let me know if these settings look ok. I apologise for jumping right in on this thread I didn't want to start 50,000 different threads with question all over the place. I know I'll have many more questions to ask. Thanks for all the help.
_________________________
Demetrios

Top
#228418 - 11/04/08 04:17 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: demetman]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
The settings look somewhat normal. The settings will be slightly different from room to room. The sub distance should be set about twice the actual distance to account for the DSP lag time. The -12 is most likely due to the sub gain being a little too hot for Audyssey's liking, you can bump that -12 up to what ever sounds good or just leave it. I would start to play with the speaker size settings and see if you like the fronts set to small, I am willing to bet they are set at a crossover of 40hz, I would bump that up to 60 and see if it makes any difference for the better or worse.

Or you can just leave it all 'as is', since it sounds good to you, that is the important part.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#228424 - 11/04/08 04:34 PM Re: Audyssey set up thread [Re: jakewash]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4848
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
After skimming the article I can find at least a few things I did wrong. I will try to re-run audessey following the suggested procedures and see what I think... may be a week or two before I get a chance to do that though.

If I like the results I may buy the $100 upgrade and re-run it.
_________________________
-David

Top
Page 4 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.