Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
1 registered (CV), 63 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13313 Members
11 Forums
22856 Topics
403821 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17755
pmbuko 16268
SirQuack 13325
CV 11171
MarkSJohnson 10856
Meanwhile On Facebook

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Got your new In-Ceiling speakers yet? #atmosready http://axiomaudio.com/m3-in-c...

(y) Can't wait for the next evolution of surround sound to go mainstream!

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#265548 - 07/06/09 03:21 PM Denon 3808CI network question
Olderbutwiser Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/23/09
Posts: 93
Loc: Yuma, AZ
I don't seem to be able to play my music library in ramdom mode through my network connection. Is there a way to do it? The manual says you can do it on the USB inputs but nothing about through your network.
_________________________
M80v2,EP500v2,VP150v2,4xQS8v2,Algonquins V3
Denon 3808CI
Oppo BDP-83
LG 55LW6500

Top
#265573 - 07/06/09 07:56 PM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: Olderbutwiser]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4848
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
hmmm.. now that you mention it I have never tried to do this... Which media server are you using and what are your file formats?




Edited by terzaghi (07/06/09 08:05 PM)
_________________________
-David

Top
#265603 - 07/07/09 09:28 AM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: terzaghi]
Olderbutwiser Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/23/09
Posts: 93
Loc: Yuma, AZ
I am using Windows Media Player 11.0, most of my files are MP3s and WMA. I can see and play all the files with no problem. When my wife and I are doing projects around the house and yard it's just nice to be able to play the library in random mode. I wonder if its a memory issue since you are supposed to be able to do it with a flash drive or external hard drive connected to the USB port on the Denon. I have not tried that, I suppose I really should just to confirm that there is a random mode available. Thanks
_________________________
M80v2,EP500v2,VP150v2,4xQS8v2,Algonquins V3
Denon 3808CI
Oppo BDP-83
LG 55LW6500

Top
#265839 - 07/10/09 12:58 PM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: Olderbutwiser]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Unfortunately the 3808 won't do Random mode when streaming from a media server, that mode is for use with iPods only, IIRC. What I do is run the 3808 in all music/file mode and start at different points then just let it grab the next song in the list, this offeres a very random playback as the list is done by Title in alphabetical order so the artist is usually never the same.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#266020 - 07/13/09 01:46 PM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: jakewash]
Olderbutwiser Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/23/09
Posts: 93
Loc: Yuma, AZ
I was hoping that wasn't the case. Yes the all music/file mode and start at different points works pretty well. Thanks
_________________________
M80v2,EP500v2,VP150v2,4xQS8v2,Algonquins V3
Denon 3808CI
Oppo BDP-83
LG 55LW6500

Top
#266023 - 07/13/09 02:20 PM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: Olderbutwiser]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17755
Loc: NoVA
Seems like electronics manufacturers always have shuffle/random play as a second thought. I have a universal changer that shuffles in disc order--it'll play a random song on disk 1, then a random song on disk 2, etc. In my car, I have a CD changer. It only shuffles by disc. It'll shuffle all the songs on disk 1, then move to disk 2...There was another universal changer I looked at where it didn't keep a memory of what tracks it had already played!

How hard is this? C'mon, people.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#266305 - 07/16/09 12:53 PM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: Ken.C]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16268
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I like how my Onkyo changer does it. I doesn't scan the trays ahead of time. First it skips to a random tray. If it's empty it moves to another tray. When it finds a disc, it scans the index for the number of tracks, adds it to its disc/track index (so that it can keep track of the ones it has played), and then chooses a random one on that disc to play. When that track is done, it may play another on the disc or move on to the next random tray which may or may not contain a disc. It doesn't repeat tracks.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#266313 - 07/16/09 01:41 PM Re: Denon 3808CI network question [Re: pmbuko]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17755
Loc: NoVA
And Onkyo apparently thought this wasn't the right way to do it when it came time to make a universal changer. Bizarre.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.