Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
2 registered (Da_Gimp_Pimp, magoo94), 65 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13296 Members
11 Forums
22827 Topics
403289 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17742
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11146
MarkSJohnson 10833
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#280839 - 11/28/09 11:45 PM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
$1400 for the 3007!!!! .........you suck!!!! ;\) \:\) It is ~$2600 up here, same goes for the Denon 4310

I bet the best I could do on Boxing day (our Black Friday) would be $1900-2000.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#280841 - 11/29/09 12:07 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
Micah Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/16/08
Posts: 1789
Loc: Indiana you hoser!!!!
 Originally Posted By: grunt
I believe what Randy is suggesting is that your M80s were bottoming out not your subwoofer.


Ahhh... well if you're right about that, then all I have to say is this.... negative. I ruled that possibility out almost immediatelly. I disconnected every speaker except the EP800 and ran the 'Cave' scene among other extreme LFE movie sequences and the EP800 was 100% the culprit. And let me also say that I've never heard the M80's bottom out. I can't speak for how well they perform with a reciever pushing them because when I had the Denon hooked up to them I never went past zero on the volume knob, because they started to sound strained.

But I can say that with the Emotiva supplying the full 400 watts that they're rated to handle, I can not bottom them out. And I've pushed them, trust me. Those things are the real poop!
_________________________
My Stuff :

M80's
QS8's
VP150
EP800
Denon 4802
Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung BD-P3600
Sharp 65 Inch Aquos LCD

Top
#280842 - 11/29/09 12:10 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: jakewash]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
\:o

So explain to me why some products cost so much up there compared to here? You’re not really all that more socialist than we are.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280843 - 11/29/09 12:15 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
 Originally Posted By: Micah

Ahhh... well if you're right about that, then all I have to say is this.... negative. I ruled that possibility out almost immediatelly. I disconnected every speaker except the EP800 and ran the 'Cave' scene among other extreme LFE movie sequences and the EP800 was 100% the culprit.


Based on your descriptions of what you were hearing I didn’t think it was your problem. Randy just doesn’t like it when we run our M80s large, or w/really low crossovers. ;\)
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280844 - 11/29/09 12:17 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Not enough competition to keep the price down. You can only buy the 3007 around Calgary from a couple of places in the retail market or go with some of the HT companies and get charged even more!
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#280846 - 11/29/09 01:51 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
Micah Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/16/08
Posts: 1789
Loc: Indiana you hoser!!!!
 Originally Posted By: grunt
 Originally Posted By: Micah

Ahhh... well if you're right about that, then all I have to say is this.... negative. I ruled that possibility out almost immediatelly. I disconnected every speaker except the EP800 and ran the 'Cave' scene among other extreme LFE movie sequences and the EP800 was 100% the culprit.


Based on your descriptions of what you were hearing I didn’t think it was your problem. Randy just doesn’t like it when we run our M80s large, or w/really low crossovers. ;\)




Oh Dean, have you been hitting the garlic again?




Lol
_________________________
My Stuff :

M80's
QS8's
VP150
EP800
Denon 4802
Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung BD-P3600
Sharp 65 Inch Aquos LCD

Top
#280847 - 11/29/09 02:11 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: Micah]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
 Originally Posted By: Micah

Oh Dean, have you been hitting the garlic again?

Lol


Knoblauch wird durch die Luftwaffe verboten.

Well at least that kind is. 7 years 2 months and (runs out of fingers) 14 days, not that I’m counting. ;\) With my luck, by then the lefties will have brought us national healthcare and the righties will use it as an excuse test everyone. I can’t count the number of times I’ve warned my lefty friends to be careful what they wish for.

Garlic related (the real kind), I freaked out a cashier at the grocery store the other day when I bought over a kilo of garlic. She looked at me quizzically so I looked around as if to check who was watching, then leaned forward and said “Vampires! Avondale’s crawling with them.” I love freaking people out.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280848 - 11/29/09 03:21 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
I just remembered one pre/pro which has separate sub-woofer outputs. Its feature-set is a little dated now, but the Theta Digital, Casablanca III can have up to 12 outputs, mapped from any number of input channels, with individually set crossover points. So you could take the left input and send >80 Hz to one output, and then the <80 Hz also of the left input to a separate out. It can have front/rear subs, or left/right very easily.
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#280850 - 11/29/09 05:16 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: ClubNeon]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
That is one seriously cool piece of equipment.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280852 - 11/29/09 06:53 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11146
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
You sound like me talking to Eric.
_________________________
SuperGrand UltraDeluxe (Plus Extra More)

Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.