Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
3 registered (newf, JohnK, Ajax), 83 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13316 Members
11 Forums
22874 Topics
404204 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17768
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11194
MarkSJohnson 10878
Meanwhile On Facebook

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#294787 - 03/02/10 09:20 PM Hooking up the sub
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
I just received my system including the R872 7.1 AV. I'm tring to hook up the sub but apparently I'm not doing it right. I'm connecting to the pre-out SWOOFER and the male end fits only the XLR/1/4phone in. If I pull the 1/4 out it doesn't fit??? Need assistance to make sure I'm doing this right. Any one up for providing assistance tonight?

Top
#294789 - 03/02/10 09:24 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
onn Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/28/08
Posts: 903
Loc: Edmonton Alberta
What kind of cable are you using (RCA or XLR)? What type of sub?
_________________________
My system

Top
#294793 - 03/02/10 09:39 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: onn]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
Its not an RCA type plug. It is a rather thin cable, I would have to say it is more like 3.5 mm, it has a small center male plug and a surrounding shield that would say fit over a female plug. Make sense?

Top
#294797 - 03/02/10 09:49 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17768
Loc: NoVA
Can you take a picture of the pieces for us?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#294798 - 03/02/10 09:50 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
OK it is the RCA sub woofer cable on the web page under cables sub woofer coax cable.

Top
#294800 - 03/02/10 09:54 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
EP350 Sub

Top
#294801 - 03/02/10 10:08 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
Anyone have an answer?

Top
#294802 - 03/02/10 10:11 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

I don't have an Axiom sub but there will someone along to help.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#294804 - 03/02/10 10:22 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: Wid]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

From the manual:


RCA LINE IN: Your subwoofer is shipped with a supplied 1/4” Phone-to-RCA-jack adapter already installed in the XLR female input. Connect a shielded coaxial cable, with male RCA plugs on each end, from the A/V receiver or A/V preamp processor’s Subwoofer Output jack to the RCA female jack on the 1/4” Phone-to-RCA adapter.

I would say use the adapter that was supplied and the coax cable, sub cable, you have.

With the sub cable plugged into the sub out of the receiver to the sub in, using the adapter, to the sub.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#294805 - 03/02/10 10:29 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: Wid]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
Thanks Rick, that is what I did and I'm not getting any sound. System is on, all of the rest of the system is working. I'll check it out again.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.