Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
5 registered (ClubNeon, JohnK, Hansang, Scenium, brwsaw), 99 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12708 Members
11 Forums
22685 Topics
400499 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17696
pmbuko 16224
SirQuack 13311
CV 11062
MarkSJohnson 10678
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#294787 - 03/02/10 09:20 PM Hooking up the sub
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
I just received my system including the R872 7.1 AV. I'm tring to hook up the sub but apparently I'm not doing it right. I'm connecting to the pre-out SWOOFER and the male end fits only the XLR/1/4phone in. If I pull the 1/4 out it doesn't fit??? Need assistance to make sure I'm doing this right. Any one up for providing assistance tonight?

Top
#294789 - 03/02/10 09:24 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
onn Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/28/08
Posts: 862
Loc: Edmonton Alberta
What kind of cable are you using (RCA or XLR)? What type of sub?
_________________________
My system

Top
#294793 - 03/02/10 09:39 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: onn]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
Its not an RCA type plug. It is a rather thin cable, I would have to say it is more like 3.5 mm, it has a small center male plug and a surrounding shield that would say fit over a female plug. Make sense?

Top
#294797 - 03/02/10 09:49 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17696
Loc: NoVA
Can you take a picture of the pieces for us?
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#294798 - 03/02/10 09:50 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
OK it is the RCA sub woofer cable on the web page under cables sub woofer coax cable.

Top
#294800 - 03/02/10 09:54 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
EP350 Sub

Top
#294801 - 03/02/10 10:08 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
Anyone have an answer?

Top
#294802 - 03/02/10 10:11 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: KSTx]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6717
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

I don't have an Axiom sub but there will someone along to help.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#294804 - 03/02/10 10:22 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: Wid]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6717
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

From the manual:


RCA LINE IN: Your subwoofer is shipped with a supplied 1/4” Phone-to-RCA-jack adapter already installed in the XLR female input. Connect a shielded coaxial cable, with male RCA plugs on each end, from the A/V receiver or A/V preamp processor’s Subwoofer Output jack to the RCA female jack on the 1/4” Phone-to-RCA adapter.

I would say use the adapter that was supplied and the coax cable, sub cable, you have.

With the sub cable plugged into the sub out of the receiver to the sub in, using the adapter, to the sub.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#294805 - 03/02/10 10:29 PM Re: Hooking up the sub [Re: Wid]
KSTx Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 10/14/07
Posts: 15
Loc: Texas, USA
Thanks Rick, that is what I did and I'm not getting any sound. System is on, all of the rest of the system is working. I'll check it out again.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.