Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
3 registered (jmone, kah68, Socketman), 57 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13328 Members
11 Forums
22918 Topics
405140 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17789
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13340
CV 11236
MarkSJohnson 10938
Meanwhile On Facebook

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#362676 - 01/04/12 04:10 PM Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it?
sotwell Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 02/04/06
Posts: 23
So I ran audyssey xt, and my m60s and vp150 were all set to Full Band. I have read to move this to 80mhz. Is this correct or should I leave them? My QS8 came in at 100mhz.

Top
#362678 - 01/04/12 04:25 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: sotwell]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5908
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
If it were me, and I didn't have a sub woofer, I'd probably leave them at full (no crossover setting). If I had a sub, I'd set the crossover to 80hz.

You can always try each setting and see what sounds the best for you. I wish receivers had a variable crossover setting from say, 40hz to 100hz in 5 or 10hz increments.

M22's would sound strained a bit at the full setting without a sub-woofer at higher volume, but I doubt that the M60 or M80 would.


Edited by CatBrat (01/04/12 04:30 PM)

Top
#362679 - 01/04/12 04:28 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: CatBrat]
sotwell Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 02/04/06
Posts: 23
Thanks. I do have a sub : svs pc13

Top
#362680 - 01/04/12 04:58 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: sotwell]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10938
Loc: Central NH
Depending upon the capabilities of your processor, you may wish to try the M60s at something lower than 80Hz. I have mine set at 40Hz, as I have bass issues in my room and find that I like to have the M60s contributing some bass as well to give my three sources instead of the single sub.

It's a little more taxing on my amp, and the Dolby recommendation is 80Hz, so it's not magic bullet... but might not hurt to try.

Also, my receiver has the capability to send the bass signal to BOTH the sub and the main speakers, but other receivers allow only one or the other. If yours is like this, I would just go ahead and move it to 80Hz.

Don't forget to set the "crossover" on your sub as high as it can go (assuming your sub has a crossover adjustment), since you're already telling the receiver to handle that switchover from "Mains" to "Sub".
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#362696 - 01/04/12 06:46 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: MarkSJohnson]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13340
Loc: Iowa
You do want to set those speakers to small. Audyssey has a lot more filters for the sub channel, so bumping up the crossover to 60 and most likely 80hz would be recommended.

Also, Audyssey does not set a speaker to small or large, it just reports back to the receiver the -3dB point of each speaker in your room.


Edited by SirQuack (01/04/12 06:48 PM)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#362715 - 01/04/12 09:44 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: sotwell]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10403
Sot, the receiver used the data from the Audyssey measurements to set the speakers "Full Range" because apparently in your room there was good response as low as 40Hz. This doesn't mean that it's best to leave it that way, however. Setting a higher crossover manually(typically 80Hz)allows your fine sub to handle more of the frequencies it does best and take part of the load off your speakers so that they can play the higher frequencies a bit more cleanly. Also, as Randy pointed out, Audyssey XT has higher resolution filters in the sub channel than the speaker channels. As a result, the correction in the lowest bass frequencies can be more accurate when the sub rather than the speakers is handling them.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#362726 - 01/04/12 10:56 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: JohnK]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5908
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Just wondering that if certain speakers played certain frequency ranges better and cleaner than others, would there be a sonic advantage to having more than 3 sized speakers in a cabinet. Maybe 6 different sizes that each played their own set of frequencies, crossed over properly.

Top
#362735 - 01/04/12 11:57 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: CatBrat]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10403
Brian, theoretically that degree of driver specialization would be an advantage, but each crossover is a problem. Some go to the extent of saying that the best crossover is no crossover and attempt to employ a single full-range driver, with generally just moderately successful results. Two and three way speakers can give better results, but much more than that is doubtful.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#362851 - 01/05/12 10:44 PM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: JohnK]
Tariq Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/17/11
Posts: 16
Loc: Muscat, Oman
SVS has an online database that gives recommendations to various speakers crossover. Their recommendation for the M80, which is what i have, is to have the crossover at 60Hz. I set the QS8 are 80Hz. This works well in my room.

Check with SVS and Axiom, they will give you solid recommendation.
_________________________
Tariq

M80v2 - VP180 - S:QS8 - SB:QS8 - SWide:QS8
Denon 4311 + XPA-3
Sub: Dual SVS Ultra-13

Top
#362874 - 01/06/12 01:34 AM Re: Audyssey Set my m60s to full band, leave it? [Re: Tariq]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10399
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I would try the M60s at 40hz and 60hz and set them to which ever setting you prefer after some listening at each crossover point.

Wow, a VP150 set to full range, must have quite a bit of room gain going on there. I would bump that VP150 up to 80hz and set them all(M60s too) to small to keep all but the lowest frequencies from going through them, this lets the sub handle everything below those crossover points.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.