Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
4 registered (MarkSJohnson, tomtuttle, onn, CatBrat), 126 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12813 Members
11 Forums
22692 Topics
400687 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17699
pmbuko 16227
SirQuack 13311
CV 11066
MarkSJohnson 10698
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#366241 - 02/10/12 02:20 PM Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/05/02
Posts: 1333
Loc: Ancaster, Ontario
Hi,

Apologies for not babbling about my visit to Axiom last week. Had a great time and will post about it when time permits. Since getting back home the contractors have returned so my time is not my own.

.........for anyone who would like some cheese with that whine I have a very nice old sharp cheddar.

Now to the problem at hand, last night I spent many a happy hour trying to get two subwoofers to work.

I suspect the answer is a very simple one but come midnight I gave up on the problem. I thought I'd turn here for a little help as I don't seem to be able to find a quiet minute to think this through.

As I used to create engineering drawings before I retired I thought I'd show you all the options I tried, I hope it's not too technical for everyone.





Option A - cable to sub #1, it worked
Option B - cable to sub #2, it worked
Option C - using "Y" & cable to sub #1, it worked
Option D - using "Y" & cable to sub #2, it worked
Option E, using "Y" and cables to both subs, Nothing Worked.

I know the curious amongst you will wonder how i managed to find the time to do the drawing when apparently i don't have the time to solve the problem.... a topic best left for a later date.

Receiver Denon AVR890
Sub #1 Axiom EP3350
Sub #2 Paradign DSP3400
Two different Y-cables were tried both male to 2 female.

Your thoughts?


Edited by FordPrefect (02/10/12 02:21 PM)
Edit Reason: spellin and granmaw
_________________________
getting to 2,000 posts; one year at a time vp160/qs8/qs4/ep350/m60/m2200s

Top
#366245 - 02/10/12 02:30 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13311
Loc: Iowa
hmm, assuming your splitting it at the sub pre-out jack on the receiver it should work fine. For my 2 350's it works that way, or if I just run one coax to Sub1 pre in, then a second shorter cable from Sub1 (preout) to Sub2 (prein). What if you do option A above, but then run a cable from the 350 to the other sub (name not mentioned here). smile
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#366248 - 02/10/12 02:34 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: SirQuack]
Kruncher Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 484
Loc: Maple Ridge, BC
Are both subs set to power on when a signal is detected? If so, try the On setting instead of Auto. Any better? The subs might not be getting enough juice when the signal is split.

Top
#366249 - 02/10/12 02:35 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
FordPrefect Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/05/02
Posts: 1333
Loc: Ancaster, Ontario
makes sense I'll try it tonight when the herd has gone home.

I still don't know why the current setup won't work.

lunch is over, back later....
_________________________
getting to 2,000 posts; one year at a time vp160/qs8/qs4/ep350/m60/m2200s

Top
#366255 - 02/10/12 03:24 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6627
Loc: PEI, Canada
Puzzling. Too bad there wasn't a way to tap into the circuit with a multi-meter when they are plugged in.

[Edit] A thought, maybe you could use your extra Y connector for that. You don't need one on both cables. Put it on the sub you are running, measure, then plug the other sub in and measure again.


Edited by Murph (02/10/12 03:44 PM)
Edit Reason: I woke up.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#366257 - 02/10/12 03:34 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
tomtuttle Online   happy
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8147
Loc: Tacoma
Long cables?

I'm thinking the same as Kruncher; that your receiver isn't putting out enough voltage to wake them both up.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#366265 - 02/10/12 05:18 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13311
Loc: Iowa
where do you have the dB levels set for the sub channel, maybe you have it at like -12dB, which ties in with what Krunch and Tommy Boy say... Why not let Audyssey do the work?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#366274 - 02/10/12 07:54 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 6969
Loc: Canada
The answer is as simple as the diagram. You ran out of Boom Boom at D.

Let me know when its back. I like my cheddar with Boom Boom. grin
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#366279 - 02/10/12 10:21 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10309
Wayne, the high level of technical complexity of your drawings did in fact require considerable study to determine why you were complaining. What can be said at this point is what the problem isn't: connecting a voltage source in parallel to two loads doesn't create a "voltage divider" in the technical meaning of the term(a series connection does that); each load receives the original voltage. For example, if the sub out from the receiver at a particular instant is 1 volt, each sub amplifier connected in parallel receives 1 volt(not a half volt).

That's all very well, but the question of course is what the problem is, then. It appears that both branches of the "Y" and both coax cables are working separately, but didn't work together in "E". This makes no apparent sense. Although the amount of time that you spent indicates that you probably double-checked the connections carefully, I'll nevertheless suggest one remote possibility which afflicted one of our members a few years ago: in making cable changes he inadvertently plugged into the multi-channel sub input on the receiver rather than the sub out. Are you certain this didn't happen when you ran "E"? If this isn't it, I'll continue to ponder the matter, but my next best guess at this point would be Fred's suggestion that you ran out of Boom Boom after "D".
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#366282 - 02/10/12 10:50 PM Re: Help With Dual Subs [Re: FordPrefect]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4062
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
Originally Posted By: FordPrefect
Hi,

Apologies for not babbling about my visit to Axiom last week. Had a great time and will post about it when time permits. Since getting back home the contractors have returned so my time is not my own.

.........for anyone who would like some cheese with that whine I have a very nice old sharp cheddar.

Now to the problem at hand, last night I spent many a happy hour trying to get two subwoofers to work.

I suspect the answer is a very simple one but come midnight I gave up on the problem. I thought I'd turn here for a little help as I don't seem to be able to find a quiet minute to think this through.

As I used to create engineering drawings before I retired I thought I'd show you all the options I tried, I hope it's not too technical for everyone.





Option A - cable to sub #1, it worked
Option B - cable to sub #2, it worked
Option C - using "Y" & cable to sub #1, it worked
Option D - using "Y" & cable to sub #2, it worked
Option E, using "Y" and cables to both subs, Nothing Worked.

I know the curious amongst you will wonder how i managed to find the time to do the drawing when apparently i don't have the time to solve the problem.... a topic best left for a later date.

Receiver Denon AVR890
Sub #1 Axiom EP3350
Sub #2 Paradign DSP3400
Two different Y-cables were tried both male to 2 female.

Your thoughts?


What are the exact Y-cables you are using? I have experienced something similar before setting up dual subwoofers and it was caused by using a very cheap splitter. A single sub would work on either end of the Y but combined only the one sub would work. The quality of the splitter was exactly what you see in the supplied cables when you buy a DVD player but a male to 2 female adapter equivalent.

Make sure the splitter is spec'd for 75 ohms. I purchased a splitter from Blue Jeans cable for $2.50 and it solved the problem. Perhaps you have a similar issue with the Y splitter you are using.
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.