Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
3 registered (MarkSJohnson, oakvillematt, BBIBH), 83 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13316 Members
11 Forums
22874 Topics
404213 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17768
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11194
MarkSJohnson 10878
Meanwhile On Facebook

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#389377 - 02/07/13 05:33 PM VP-150 Blown Crossover?
TheListener Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/03/13
Posts: 33
Just got it on Craigslist for those who didn't read my other thread.

Center is muffled. Been down this road with other speakers. Tweeters have no output. Both of them. Hooked them into a bookshelf and they work fine.

I suspect the crossover, BUT, I noticed the speaker is 6Ohms. My receiver (I tried two different receivers) is rated 8 and it claims it will do 6 as well. Plus there is all kinds of evidence it will run anyway.

So, I was hoping for guidance on this. How do I fix it? Just buy another one (that will cost s fortune won't it?)?

Top
#389379 - 02/07/13 05:44 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5843
Loc: Some random location
Originally Posted By: TheListener
Hooked them (tweeters) into a bookshelf and they work fine.


What does this mean? Hooked them into a bookshelf.

Top
#389381 - 02/07/13 05:59 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
TheListener Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/03/13
Posts: 33
I took the tweeters from the CC and hooked them in bookshelf. Works. I have removed the crossover. It appears the smaller 6.8 mf capacitor is slightly bulging at the top, appears to have "brown" material out the top. The other capacitors are "smooth," not bulging. Going to see what I can find at Radio Shack.

Top
#389382 - 02/07/13 06:03 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5843
Loc: Some random location
Call Axiom and ask them if that cross-over can be replaced, and how much it would cost. You never know. Also, there are a lot of people that have VP150's just sitting in their closets now that the VP160/VP180 has come out. Might be able to pick up another VP150 on the cheap.

Top
#389383 - 02/07/13 06:10 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
TheListener Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/03/13
Posts: 33
They are $300 on ebay (the whole unit). Does anyone know if I buy a 6.8uf microfarad capacitor and put it on, will it work?


Edited by TheListener (02/07/13 06:10 PM)

Top
#389384 - 02/07/13 06:37 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
MarkSJohnson Online   happy
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10878
Loc: Central NH
I would double-check with Axiom.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#389385 - 02/07/13 06:52 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
yeah, you can. the main thing to watch for is the accuracy. electrical components will have a range of accuracy, from +/- .1 to +/- .01.. the tigher the tolerance the more expensive, but the closer to the exact value the component will be.


If the kind below is the style Axiom used, then this is what i would replace it with one of these.
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=027-336


And yes, a bulging capacitor = a dead capacitor... check all of the others on the cross over as well.


Have you ever done any type of electronics repair before? if not buy a starter ic board kit, and practice with that to learn how to solder before you attempt the fix.

Top
#389387 - 02/07/13 07:36 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
TheListener Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/03/13
Posts: 33
Problem with that PE is the cap in the crossover is radial, not straight-through. Can I just bend the leads and "make" it a radial type capacitor?

I can do the electronics part. It's been a while but I can do it. I've already removed the cap.

Top
#389389 - 02/07/13 08:10 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Only thing to really worry about is that It has to be bipolar and of the correct spec, other than that solder away.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#389392 - 02/07/13 08:44 PM Re: VP-150 Blown Crossover? [Re: TheListener]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=020-1429


to answer your question. Yes you could just bend the leads, at least i dont see any reason why not..

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.