Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
2 registered (CV, storm266), 35 Guests and 8 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13336 Members
11 Forums
22945 Topics
405831 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17809
pmbuko 16298
SirQuack 13344
CV 11272
MarkSJohnson 10966
Meanwhile On Facebook

Shopping made easy! Need it by the 24th? Upgrade to air shipping for just $20!...

Just two more days! Better tell your gift-givers! http://axiomaudio.com/holida...

So many people took advantage of the weekend sales! Lots of auditioning about t...

Only a few hours left to get a gift card worth up to 25% of your purchase! http:...

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#390755 - 03/08/13 12:14 PM Re: Receiver and VP150 or Soundbar [Re: nickbuol]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
nick, are you still trying to stay in the low couple hundred $$ range?

Top
#390761 - 03/08/13 01:17 PM Re: Receiver and VP150 or Soundbar [Re: nickbuol]
nickbuol Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 4557
Loc: Marion, IA
Thanks brwsaw, but no. (LOL) I have the VP150 just sitting there, the VP180 is in the theater room next door.

Tom, I wonder about that switch. Since the inputs are:
HDMI - Dish Network
HDMI - XBox 360
HDMI - Blu-Ray Player

I could use that to switch between the XBox and Blu-Ray Player since only one of those would ever be on at any given moment, and then have the Dish Network connection go right to the TV since that receiver can be on/off at any given moment depending on what other TV is accessing it.

Maybe that is the best bet for now. Spend $20 or less (have to cover shipping) and have a working solution for the HDMI part, and then, once we start using the room more, re-evaluate our financial situation and see what makes more sense.

I still think that some day I will have a better use for my VP150 than the often suggested flower pot. LOL
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
M60s, VP180, VP150, QS8s, M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, Shakers

Top
#390763 - 03/08/13 01:27 PM Re: Receiver and VP150 or Soundbar [Re: nickbuol]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8305
Loc: Tacoma
Well, you could get a 3-way switch, I'm sure. That might be "better"; I was just spitballing on a cheap solution. In my secondary systems, I'm doing the switching in the TV instead of the receiver, and I kind of like that. It seems to simplify the overall UI. I'm not hung up on that particular switch as much as I am suggesting to solve your HDMI input shortage and do the switching in the TV instead of doing the switching in a receiver or soundbar.

Once you've done that, you could take the single audio output (either digital or analog) from the TV and still do whatever you want with it - like add powered stereo speakers or power your VP150 with a t-amp or something. I suppose it would depend if your TV volume control "works" on its analog and/or digital outputs.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.