Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (Ken.C, Ajax), 53 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13317 Members
11 Forums
22876 Topics
404358 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17775
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11200
MarkSJohnson 10886
Meanwhile On Facebook

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#393622 - 06/01/13 12:51 PM Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input
FuzzyLogik Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/29/12
Posts: 10
Greetings all!

I received a replacement amp for my EP500v2 which was previously making a static or "snow" noise with no audio input and didn't really produce bass correctly with an audio input - just the noise. I replaced the old amp with the new one and now it's silent (well, sometimes) for a few moments and then creates a bass/rumble that grows over a period of time - also with no audio input. To me it feels kinda like hearing a train slowly approaching. I've tried different power cables, different circuits, cheater plugs, removing the ground chassis screw etc. with no success. Changing the crossover or trim may change the intensity of the "rumble" but doesn't make it disappear (changing the volume either makes it worse or has no effect). I've tried the 12volt test on the driver itself and that appears to work just fine.

Anybody have ideas/suggestions? Could it be the driver that's actually gone bad (which doesn't make any sense to me)? I've emailed Brent to see what he'd like me to do as well. After spending a lot of time trying to trouble-shoot the first issue and figuring the amp went bad I'm rather at a loss on this. frown

Top
#393625 - 06/01/13 03:27 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Hi,

So are you saying if you just plug the sub power in and have all other wires disconnected (ie RCA) the sub makes this rumble noise?

If this noise is made with the rca plug , plugged in then I would say to try a better cable. I had a similar situation , where I had grabbed a set of rca cables that had been in my sons car. They worked fine for a few months then one day I noticed some odd rumblings, long story short I changed to better and shorter cables and problem solved. Sub amps are sensitive and any inductance in the wire will be reproduced.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#393628 - 06/01/13 03:43 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
Ken.C Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17775
Loc: NoVA
I'd be looking at the cables as well, perhaps the 1/4->RCA adapter plug (if you've got one with that). That's where I get that sort of thing happening with my EP350.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#393631 - 06/01/13 04:54 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: Socketman]
FuzzyLogik Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/29/12
Posts: 10

That's correct - I currently only have power going to the sub and I get the rumble noise. Adding the RCA cable just makes it worse (with added hum I think) frown

I have a different RCA cable from Axiom as well... but since it happens without the RCA cable connected to the sub I think I need to get the rumble corrected first.

Thanks guys!


Edited by FuzzyLogik (06/01/13 04:55 PM)

Top
#393632 - 06/01/13 05:12 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
FuzzyLogik Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/29/12
Posts: 10
and actually, connecting the RCA cable to the sub (without it connected to the receiver) makes it hum like crazy.

Top
#393633 - 06/01/13 05:30 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
Ken.C Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17775
Loc: NoVA
Call Axiom.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#393634 - 06/01/13 06:25 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: FuzzyLogik
and actually, connecting the RCA cable to the sub (without it connected to the receiver) makes it hum like crazy.


if you are touching the ends it will hum, we all have some electric current. My mom couldn't wear a watch, they would die a sad death. New cables are not that expensive, wortha shot
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#393636 - 06/01/13 06:36 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
FuzzyLogik Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/29/12
Posts: 10
Yeah, dang. I'll wait to hear back from Brent then. Thanks again!

Top
#393637 - 06/01/13 06:37 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: Socketman]
FuzzyLogik Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/29/12
Posts: 10
Nope, not touching the ends of the cables either frown

Top
#393649 - 06/02/13 12:26 PM Re: Bass/Rumble from EP500v2 with no audio input [Re: FuzzyLogik]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 131
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
My ep500 never did work quite right from the time I bought it used. I gave up on using the line-level input, which made lots of noise regardless of any input signal, and now I just use the high-level inputs. So that might be something to try. (Now, the volume on mine is drifting upwards -- I have it set at 0, else it's too loud.)


Edited by GregLee (06/02/13 12:27 PM)
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer SC-1522
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1017

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.