Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (nickbuol, Ken.C), 56 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13328 Members
11 Forums
22918 Topics
405141 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17789
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13340
CV 11236
MarkSJohnson 10939
Meanwhile On Facebook

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#394189 - 06/16/13 05:05 PM QS8 v1 Mounting
dcrosgrey Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/16/13
Posts: 2
Hello,

I have a question I hope you can help me with. I am setting up a 7.1 surround home theatre. I just received my QS8 (v3) and I also have another set of QS8s (I believe they are v1 because I purchased them over 10 years ago. I also received my set of ceiling brackets and a set of wall brackets from Axiom as I wanted to mount all of my QS8s for my rear speakers.

I noticed that my QS8 v3 speakers have the rear bolt that the mount instructions refer to but my QS8 v1 speakers do not. Instead, the v1 speakers have the two predrilled holes for screws.

My question is, is it safe to use the screws that came with the mounting brackets to screw into the predrilled holes for mounting the bracket? The screws aren't short so I want to make sure I am not risking damage to the inside of my speakers by using the included screws. If I shouldn't use the included screws, what size screws do you recommend I use?

Thanks in advance for your help. smile

Dan.

Top
#394191 - 06/16/13 05:44 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1204
Loc: Whitehorse YT
My suggestion would be to pop out the top speaker and look inside and see if anything is mounted to the back side where the holes are drilled. It is the only way I can think you will feel assured .
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#394193 - 06/16/13 08:16 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
Ken.C Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17789
Loc: NoVA
I think Axiom can provide a diagram showing where it is safe to drill into the back of the QS8s.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#394195 - 06/16/13 08:40 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1204
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Already pre drilled holes,depth is the concern i believe.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#394196 - 06/16/13 08:47 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10399
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
How long are the provided screws? The MDF is 1" thick(or is it only 3/4 on the 8's?) so a 3/4" screw would be acceptable.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#394230 - 06/17/13 02:47 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
dcrosgrey Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/16/13
Posts: 2
Hey everyone,

Just heard from the folks at Axiom and they sent me the following. Thanks to everyone for their input.

"As mentioned, you can utilize the FMB or the ceiling bracket with the older QS8. Using the current QS8 as a template for the center hole for your older QS8, place the speaker portion of the bracket to the cabinet. Pre-drill the 4 outer holes 1/2 inch into the cabinet and using a 3/4" #8 wood screw, secure the speaker portion of the bracket to the cabinet. Ensure that you hit a stud with the wall portion of the bracket. You will be good to go."

Just wanted to share in case anyone else ever runs into this situation.


Dan.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.