Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
3 registered (alan, Da_Gimp_Pimp, Socketman), 49 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13313 Members
11 Forums
22855 Topics
403814 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17755
pmbuko 16268
SirQuack 13325
CV 11171
MarkSJohnson 10856
Meanwhile On Facebook

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Got your new In-Ceiling speakers yet? #atmosready http://axiomaudio.com/m3-in-c...

(y) Can't wait for the next evolution of surround sound to go mainstream!

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#396232 - 08/19/13 09:42 PM 4 Pin S Video to Component - On Screen Setup Menu
Mike_KC Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/07/12
Posts: 2
I just purchased a new TV that has HDMI and component. My old receiver (NAD T752) only allows the on-screen setup menu to be viewed via S video (4 pin) or composite per the documentation. Any ideas on how I can get things setup to display the receiver's on screen menu on my new TV? Is there such a thing as a 4-pin S video to component adapter? I was only able to find 7-pin to component adapters.

If not, I am thinking I will have to find an older TV that uses 4 pin S-video just to perform the receiver setup. For some reason, the sub is not working when I watch DVD's even though the sub is receiving a signal during the 'test' mode where it sends static to each channel. I am hoping the sub is just turned off or not configured in the receiver.

Top
#396233 - 08/19/13 10:04 PM Re: 4 Pin S Video to Component - On Screen Setup Menu [Re: Mike_KC]
ArthurC Offline
buff

Registered: 08/07/13
Posts: 47
Loc: Ottawa, Canada
Like this?
http://www.amazon.com/S-Video-MDIN7-Component-Infocus-Projector/dp/B001UW1D58

There are other cables that pop up as related. This one claims it's for an in-focus projector. Not sure if that's "special" or not.

Seems there are ways to do what you need at least.


Edited by ArthurC (08/19/13 10:08 PM)
_________________________
Semper ubi sub ubi.

Top
#396241 - 08/20/13 05:20 PM Re: 4 Pin S Video to Component - On Screen Setup Menu [Re: Mike_KC]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
You won't find a S-to-Component cable, because you can split the single color component of the S-Video into the two parts needed for Component with a passive cable. I don't know what that cable linked above does, probably something specific for the device it was designed to be used with.

But if you find an S-Video break-out cable, you can use the Luminance part to drive the Luminance portion of the Component input (usually the Red jack), leaving the other cable unconnected, and get a black and white picture.

See the single, breakout adapter at the bottom of this page:
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/svideo/index.htm
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#396242 - 08/20/13 05:30 PM Re: 4 Pin S Video to Component - On Screen Setup Menu [Re: Mike_KC]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17755
Loc: NoVA
I'm rather surprised there's no composite input on the TV--that's an easy adapter from s-vid.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#396243 - 08/20/13 05:33 PM Re: 4 Pin S Video to Component - On Screen Setup Menu [Re: Ken.C]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
That is one thing to check. Many newer TVs will take the full composite signal on the Red jack of their Component interface.
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#396247 - 08/21/13 12:10 AM Re: 4 Pin S Video to Component - On Screen Setup Menu [Re: ClubNeon]
Mike_KC Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/07/12
Posts: 2
Even though the receiver manual says it only sends the on screen menu via S video or composite, I went ahead hooked up a component cable to the tv and hooked up the green cable to a monitor out on the receiver and was able to see the on screen menu.

The only problem is the sub was on and at 40hz. So, I guess the problem with the sub lies elsewhere.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.