Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
3 registered (CV, Murph, tomtuttle), 79 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13317 Members
11 Forums
22875 Topics
404244 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17768
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11194
MarkSJohnson 10878
Meanwhile On Facebook

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#400667 - 02/05/14 11:53 AM Having a few ep350 or reciver issues
Mavya13 Offline
regular

Registered: 11/29/13
Posts: 5
So i recently hooked up newly acquired my ep350, i had a few issues with it not outputting any signal what so ever only to discover that my rca cable was broken, however it seems to me that the bass is outputting through my mains more than my ep350.... i can barely hear it.

Now ive gone through all the settings and the speakers can only be set to normal size on the receiver which is a kenwood vr7070a. you can select the speaker eq after the speaker menu setup though (which i have done). I set the bass peak to about 15 which is where the two clipped together. i cant get much bass through the stereo mode either. Is there something iam forgetting? i have yet to run the spl meter as iam waiting for it in the mail, but still seems odd to me.

Top
#400668 - 02/05/14 12:48 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
SuperSocketman Offline
regular

Registered: 02/05/14
Posts: 8
Hi, if you don't have a manual get one here .

ON page 21 it looks like you may want to try setting as though you have thx ,have a look yourself and will attempt to decipher the manual,some manuals are pathetic.

Top
#400670 - 02/05/14 01:46 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: SuperSocketman]
Mavya13 Offline
regular

Registered: 11/29/13
Posts: 5
Yeah the manual can be a little bothersome, i have selected nml/thx for all my speakers (l,r,C) and then set the speaker eq to small after that, but still I am getting the same results.

Top
#400674 - 02/05/14 03:13 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Is there someone you could borrow a receiver from or subwoofer help test this out, or take your sub to a friends house. Have your tried different sources??
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#400677 - 02/05/14 03:26 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10878
Loc: Central NH
Try hooking up an MP3 player directly to the RCA composite ins. Start with power off, all volumes low.

This will take out all the other variables such as amps, receiver settings, etc.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#400681 - 02/05/14 04:26 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
SuperSocketman Offline
regular

Registered: 02/05/14
Posts: 8
good point ,I forgot the EP has a 1/8 plug,hopefully op has appropriate cable.

Top
#400690 - 02/05/14 07:08 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: SuperSocketman]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
Originally Posted By: Socketman1
good point ,I forgot the EP has a 1/8 plug,hopefully op has appropriate cable.


WAIT.....There is a "Son of Socketman" now?? An alter ego, or second personality?
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#400694 - 02/05/14 07:56 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: MarkSJohnson]
Mavya13 Offline
regular

Registered: 11/29/13
Posts: 5
Hook the mp3 up directly to the sub?

Also I am starting to think its the sub, a friend and i were playing ps3 and all of a sudden it turned on,the first time ive heard and felt it, so i took the cover off to see if it was true and then it shut off almost immediately. The test tone worked when i first hooked the sub up but seemed hardly noticeable,now i cant get any signal through it what so ever.

Top
#400699 - 02/05/14 08:35 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Argon]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: Argon
Originally Posted By: Socketman1
good point ,I forgot the EP has a 1/8 plug,hopefully op has appropriate cable.


WAIT.....There is a "Son of Socketman" now?? An alter ego, or second personality?


This board keeps loggin me in and out. I login click on a thread and it says not logged in this goes on multiple times then its good for a while. I figured it was because I was logging in at work so I made a new acct, but alas its still messing with me. I think its related to IE 11, facebook was telling me to update my browser LOL.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#400700 - 02/05/14 08:37 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: Mavya13
Hook the mp3 up directly to the sub?

Also I am starting to think its the sub, a friend and i were playing ps3 and all of a sudden it turned on,the first time ive heard and felt it, so i took the cover off to see if it was true and then it shut off almost immediately. The test tone worked when i first hooked the sub up but seemed hardly noticeable,now i cant get any signal through it what so ever.


Anything can happen during transit. Not sure how comfortable you are with this stuff but I would pop out the driver and have a look see with a flash light.

Richard.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#400703 - 02/05/14 08:53 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Socketman]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
Originally Posted By: Socketman
Originally Posted By: Argon
Originally Posted By: Socketman1
good point ,I forgot the EP has a 1/8 plug,hopefully op has appropriate cable.


WAIT.....There is a "Son of Socketman" now?? An alter ego, or second personality?


This board keeps loggin me in and out. I login click on a thread and it says not logged in this goes on multiple times then its good for a while. I figured it was because I was logging in at work so I made a new acct, but alas its still messing with me. I think its related to IE 11, facebook was telling me to update my browser LOL.


SO! It is you. As long as you don't start conversing with yourself....
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#400704 - 02/05/14 09:08 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
SuperSocketman Offline
regular

Registered: 02/05/14
Posts: 8
Yeah its just me, you couldn't stand more than one of me smile

Top
#400714 - 02/06/14 08:39 AM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: SuperSocketman]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
There's a third? Are you sure you are not Sybil or Eve?
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#400762 - 02/06/14 09:09 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Mavya is there any resolution to this ??
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#400876 - 02/10/14 06:59 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Socketman]
Mavya13 Offline
regular

Registered: 11/29/13
Posts: 5
defiantly not the receiver, i have hooked up another sub and it outputs fine. Ive called axiom and they recommend i check the driver as previously said. ive taken out the screws, tried to be delicate as to remove the thing, i cant seem to get it to come out, any tricks that could me at all?

Top
#400878 - 02/10/14 08:03 PM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1189
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Try taking the amp out instead. The way I do it is hard to explain, but easy when you see it. I use a screw that is larger than the speaker screw hole , I thread it into the metal frame of the speaker and it pushes the speaker out. It just a really precision fit around the edge of the speaker where it recess's into the cabinet.


Edited by Socketman (02/10/14 08:04 PM)
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#401614 - 03/03/14 03:30 AM Re: Having a few ep350 or reciver issues [Re: Mavya13]
MichaelTrottar Offline
old hand

Registered: 12/10/13
Posts: 84
I think its relevant to IE 11, facebook or myspace was informing to upgrade my browser.
_________________________
Cinéma maison Montréal

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.