Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
1 registered (bridgman), 147 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13295 Members
11 Forums
22826 Topics
403267 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17741
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11146
MarkSJohnson 10832
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#401071 - 02/15/14 07:40 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: JohnK]
Hellcommute Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/12
Posts: 147
Correct. Just as a light is driven by a ballast. The load presented to the brach circuit is not the bulb.

I think where the confusion is here is that input and output voltages are not the same. But we dont care what the output voltage is for branch demand calcs.

For current usage calculations, the nominal input voltage is always the divisor for cicruit loading calculations.

Top
#401076 - 02/15/14 02:25 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
no wonder so many get scared away from these forums, lol
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#401077 - 02/15/14 02:27 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: Hellcommute]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1163
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: Hellcommute
Correct. Just as a light is driven by a ballast. The load presented to the brach circuit is not the bulb.

I think where the confusion is here is that input and output voltages are not the same. But we dont care what the output voltage is for branch demand calcs.

For current usage calculations, the nominal input voltage is always the divisor for cicruit loading calculations.




What?? could you speak slower grin
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#401082 - 02/15/14 05:33 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Hellcommute Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/12
Posts: 147
Naw, Ian or Andrew would be bored half asleep. Intro stuff.

Fwiw, most electricians wouldn't give a sniff about this sort of thing. But it is really neat to know the electrical theory behind what makes your pants shake in the pods emerge scene in war of the worlds!

Top
#401140 - 02/16/14 11:08 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Boltron Offline
veteran

Registered: 11/18/11
Posts: 170
Loc: Toronto
I had a meter on mine for a few days and after watching a few movies at pretty good volume it only registered just over 1 amp draw or about 130 watts.
_________________________
For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert.

Top
#402120 - 03/24/14 10:26 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Chevy Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/31/09
Posts: 95
Loc: Sherbrooke Qc Canada
I didin't take chance, my EP500v3 is connected on a dedicated 15amp circuit. I have no problem of load, humm or noise on this circuit.

if you have room on your electrical distribution panel, i suggest your to do the same.

i drive my ep500 on a share circuit a while ago i the result was ok, my circuit at that moment wasn't overload.
_________________________
Cambridge Audio 640r,M100,VP150v3,QS8v3,EP500v3

Top
#403392 - 04/21/14 09:23 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
MichaelTrottar Offline
old hand

Registered: 12/10/13
Posts: 84
I think where the misunderstandings is here is that feedback and outcome currents are not the same. But we don't proper care what the outcome volts is for division requirement calcs.
_________________________
Cinéma maison Montréal

Top
#403422 - 04/21/14 06:13 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1844
I have 2 EP600'S, 5 channels of krell class A power that doubles down to 4ohm @500w, and 2 channels that double down to 2ohm @1200w.

All of this is on a single 15A breaker.. The HT has never tripper the breaker. The real world power draw is much less than people assume..

Top
#403423 - 04/21/14 07:51 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: dakkon]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1163
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: dakkon
I have 2 EP600'S, 5 channels of krell class A power that doubles down to 4ohm @500w, and 2 channels that double down to 2ohm @1200w.

All of this is on a single 15A breaker.. The HT has never tripper the breaker. The real world power draw is much less than people assume..


It is so much less than people think, I think. The power requirements are transient in nature and not all speakers at once as you well know. I too am way over powered and could not possibly drive the amps to a point they would deliver full power ,especially with efficient speakers like axioms.

Currently on one breaker . 60in Plasma TV (350w) , bdplayer ,dvr, 2 emo amps 8 channels @300w , air cleaner, lamp , xbox one, xbox 360, AVR, backlight for tv, 16 port switch, 2 subs and a bunch of wall warts. grin
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#403434 - 04/22/14 12:29 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Serenity_Now Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 145
Loc: PEI, Canada
Well designed subs, amps etc that use current limiting methods in the cap filter circuit will limit inrush to a level below nuisance tripping. A precharge resistor or current relay are examples.

Tripping the breaker is not the only issue. What kind of brown out conditions are those transient peaks of current creating? Is this good for electronics in general? Well designed equipment will probably withstand some dirty power. Sensitive equipment like pjs or brands that skimp on parts, like samsung or onkyo are more likely to fail prematurely under these conditions over time.

When gear is undervoltage, it will draw more current to compensate. It is still trying to do its job. This, combined with transient voltage spikes, will kill those caps in a hurry and toast your power supply.

A house is wired up to safely support 100A. Do we use close to that? No way. Circuits are layed out to avoid nuisance tripping, voltage drop and overheating. Leaving headroom on circuits is a great safety practice, and is code. When practicable, an HT with specific loads should be wired the same way. Always based on rated load of the device (at max output.)

Federal pioneer panel socketman? Notorious for not tripping under overload conditions.
_________________________
Kitty on my foot and I wanna touch it.

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.