Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
4 registered (CV, richeydog, Ken.C, exlabdriver), 50 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13337 Members
11 Forums
22951 Topics
405976 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17811
pmbuko 16301
SirQuack 13345
CV 11276
MarkSJohnson 10971
Meanwhile On Facebook

The end of a truly unique voice. RIP Joe Cocker - you were part of the soundtr...

Here's hoping you get what you really want this year! What could be better than...

Shopping made easy! Need it by the 24th? Upgrade to air shipping for just $20!...

Just two more days! Better tell your gift-givers! http://axiomaudio.com/holida...

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#403435 - 04/22/14 01:31 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1215
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Old house but has new panels (square D ) for up and down. 2 bedrooms are the same breaker , I have had to run a extension cord down the hall since both rooms have plasma's and computers etc and often blew the breaker. The main living room hasn't blown a breaker ever but I know not to push it. We also have a crappy power company and pesky critters that get into transformers so the power goes out or browns out often , more so in the summer.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#403479 - 04/22/14 07:50 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: dakkon]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto
Originally Posted By: dakkon
I have 2 EP600'S, 5 channels of krell class A power that doubles down to 4ohm @500w, and 2 channels that double down to 2ohm @1200w.

All of this is on a single 15A breaker.. The HT has never tripper the breaker. The real world power draw is much less than people assume..


I totally agree, the idea and worry about power overload in A/V systems is highly overblown. For three years now I have been running a 9.2 system currently consisting of a Yamaha Pre-Pro, 2 Outlaw multi-channel power amps at 125 watts/ch(all equally driven)and FOUR subs ALL running on a normal 15 amp circuit. A friend of mine who is an electrician measured the draw and even cranked up to the maximum listening levels, I would be drawing maybe 5 amps at most on the circuit not worth the extra 250 bucks for a dedicated circuit that I once considered installing that really, in the end, was not required.


Edited by casey01 (04/22/14 07:53 PM)

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.