Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
4 registered (Serenity_Now, onn, bridgman, MarkSJohnson), 39 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13317 Members
11 Forums
22875 Topics
404230 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17768
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11194
MarkSJohnson 10878
Meanwhile On Facebook

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#405532 - 06/15/14 10:00 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
Hi Andrew,

If something can go wrong, I'm usually the one to find it....

This clicking occurs at low level. I never did get to the point where I could try this sub, as I couldn't adjust channel level. I unplugged this sub, as I smelt a burnt odor. Haven't done anything since.

The second sub is rattling. Only noticeable with the test tone. Does appear to rattle under normal operation.

I'm not apposed to pulling out drivers or the amps to look for something loose. The sub with the fragrance of something burnt has me more concerned than the one rattling.

I'm also wondering if this Denon might be part of the problem? Seams a bit weird the V2 500's had no issues, ever, and now both of the V4's do.

I did not get a call back from Axiom this weekend. I take it that tech support hours have been scaled back? If so, you all might want to consider advertising that, so folks with issues no when not to expect a call back. Some of us are busy people.
_________________________


Top
#405533 - 06/15/14 10:04 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5843
Loc: Some random location
My ep500 v4 has had no problems. Had for 5 weeks. Haven't even calibrated yet.

Top
#405535 - 06/15/14 11:09 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
Originally Posted By: michael_d
If so, you all might want to consider advertising that, so folks with issues no when not to expect a call back. Some of us are busy people.


Michael,

They kind of did.. They removed the weekend notation with their 866 number. However, they did not explicitly note the change to their hours.

Also, another tip to pulling the amp without damage to the finish is to use a pick after pulling the screws. When i was pulling my amps, i removed all of the screws then used a pick to grab the amp from one of the now empty screw holes and pull it straight out of the opening. This way you don't need to use a flat head or something else to pry the amp out of the opening.

http://www.sears.com/craftsman-4-pc-hook...mp;blockType=G2

Above is the product that i have for doing what i am talking about. that technique worked great and none of the finishes were damaged on either of my subs.

Top
#405545 - 06/16/14 09:16 AM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
I know what you're referring to Dak, I have several for removing valve stem packing. This is simple, just time consuming.

Where is this notation for the no-weekend support? The 866 number doesn't have a message saying that. It rings, you get the message to hold, then the second message saying to leave a number. Nothing has changed on that front.
_________________________


Top
#405546 - 06/16/14 10:16 AM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
It's more the absence than then noting it. As of a couple years ago, they use to have a note below the 866 number giving all of the phone hours, m-f then below that Sat and sunday hours. Now, they make no mention of hours by a daily breakdown.


I asked about this quite some time ago.. Brent noted that most people would wait until monday to call, instead of calling on the weekend. So, due to low weekend call volume i'm guessing they made the decision not to support weekend calls.


Good luck man.

Top
#405565 - 06/16/14 03:30 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: JBG]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
Originally Posted By: JBG
Guys you have me a little tad worried, I'm waiting to recieve my ep500v4 shortly and seeing issues with the v4's is giving me second thoughts on my purchase...


No need to worry. I've been buying Axiom products for over ten years. They always resolve issues. This issue is being investigated now. I'll let Andrew speak to it if he wishes.
_________________________


Top
#405570 - 06/16/14 05:52 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
I was upgrading my amps. That's how i had the insight that i did on how to pull the amps....

Top
#405571 - 06/16/14 06:35 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
Do you ever stop upgrading? Lol.
_________________________


Top
#405575 - 06/16/14 10:00 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
um... nope not really.. well... i haven't bought anything new for the race car in a while... Does that count? But, then again i kind of have an itch for a GT3... gr...

Top
#405578 - 06/16/14 10:31 PM Re: EP500 V4 - amp is making a "click-click" noise [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
Nothing for a race car??? Stop waxing it and drive it then smile I'm holding out for a 430 Scuderia... I have a long wait.
_________________________


Top
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.