Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
0 registered (), 62 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13328 Members
11 Forums
22920 Topics
405201 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17789
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13340
CV 11236
MarkSJohnson 10941
Meanwhile On Facebook

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#6791 - 11/11/02 09:13 PM Digital signal from TV to Denon..
MIKEY Offline
devotee

Registered: 07/23/02
Posts: 331
Loc: ORANGE COUNTY CALIF
I just posted the same question in Stereo.. I just got my new Mitsubishi WS 65711 and have one little problem.. I am not able to get the digital audio from the set to the Denon 3802 to work ? Not to be confused with the DVD audio, this is the digital audio signal derived from the t/v's digital reciever itself.. There is a digital audio out on the back of the TV, and I have run the supplied cable from there to the digital 'IN' on the back of the Denon.. No sound ? Does anyone know the combo on the tv and/or 3802 to unlock this signal ?
Other than that, the picture is just beyond belief.. A dvd, combined with the full Axiom treatment just leaves me breathless.. ! I can't imagine EVER getting too much of this..
Photos for the Axiom wall o' Fame to follow soon.. Believe you me, without that sound, my new Mits would be a hollow victory..
_________________________
LFE ! The rest is just details..

Top
#6792 - 11/12/02 08:01 AM Re: Digital signal from TV to Denon..
john_henderson Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/03/02
Posts: 186
Mikey,

What is the source into the TV, is the Sat/cable hooked up to the TV? You may also find that if you have not already done so that you have to turn on/select digital out in the Mits setup functions.



Top
#6793 - 11/12/02 03:21 PM Re: Digital signal from TV to Denon..
Semi_On Offline
aficionado

Registered: 09/18/02
Posts: 737
Loc: Scottsdale, Arizona
Start with easy stuff first. Go into the TV menu's and look through the audio sections. You want Digital, not PCM. Maybe you have to enable the SPDIF out. Then, note the label on the digital in for the Denon. There are 4 coax SPDIF in's on that model if memory serves, each marked something different (TV, DVD, etc I would assume). Make sure the Denon is set to output the signal on whatever label you have that cable going into.

Does the Denon work with outher sources?

Top
#6794 - 11/12/02 06:20 PM Re: Digital signal from TV to Denon..
jkohn Offline
old hand

Registered: 01/06/02
Posts: 96
In addition to making sure you've enabled the digital output in the TV's menu, you also have to assign the digital input in the Denon setup menu. I don't remember the exact procedure for doing this since I don't own a Denon anymore, but it should be pretty easy to figure out once you get into the setup menus.

Top
#6795 - 11/12/02 09:37 PM Re: Digital signal from TV to Denon..
MIKEY Offline
devotee

Registered: 07/23/02
Posts: 331
Loc: ORANGE COUNTY CALIF
Thanks for the info everyone.. I'll give it a go again tonight.. I have the Denon and DVD player working, and I have a hard time getting myself to work on setting up the other options.. It's just too hard to turn the movie off, when it looks and sounds soooooo GREAT !!
_________________________
LFE ! The rest is just details..

Top
#6796 - 01/13/03 12:54 AM Re: Digital signal from TV to Denon..
jamin3d Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 07/24/02
Posts: 23
Loc: GSP
Mikey,

My Mits 65511 sends a digital signal fine -- but only when coming from a HD source. I have an antenna plugged into the internal HD tuner, and when I'm using that tuner, it sends a digital signal out.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.