Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Diana Krall DVD in stereo
#73594 12/25/04 05:24 AM
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
I'm rather new at home theater and serious stereo listening ... please pardon the naive feelings of audio excitement

I found Diana Krall's album, "Live in Paris" frequently mentioned in the Axiom forums. Wanted to find out if the album sounds that good on my M80s. I finally rented this DVD from netflix. I thought I'll evaluate my M80s and see if they are good with stereo imaging as well.

They didn't disappoint. The imaging was crystal clear. I don't have a sub yet, but the bass guitar was clear and deep as well. Diana Krall seemed like she was right in front of me in the second song.

I finally understood Alan L's tips on evaluating speakers for stereo listening, i.e., can i clearly picture in my mind the location of the different instruments, does the vocal portion sound natural etc.

Any other albums you guys can recommend that will show off my new Axiom speakers? Thanks very much.
Ananth

Axiom M80Ti, VP150, M3 on walls X 4, M3 ceiling X4, HSU VTF-3 MK3

Re: Diana Krall DVD in stereo
#73595 12/25/04 03:01 PM
axiomite
axiomite
Ananth,

I'm a big fan of DVD concerts, and "Live in Paris" is my absolute favorite. I really enjoy watching as well as listening. But, if I have other things to do, I can just listen, and ignore the video, if I choose.

The following are all DVD concerts.

I don't know your musical tastes, but you might give "Norah Jones - Live in New Orleans" a try.

If you enjoy modern country music (more country rock, than country) Give "Faith Hill - When The Lights Go Down" a play. I'm not a big country fan, but this lady is the real deal. Not only does she sound good, but she looks good too. I REALLY enjoyed this concert. (Thank you, Ray! ) There's also "Alison Krauss + Union Station Live"

In the Rock 'n' Roll genre, there's always "The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over" DVD.