Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: HTPC
#9576 03/27/03 08:47 PM
Saturn Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Semi:

Really interesting thread. Would you explain to me why you need P4 2.8 for capture of 1080i? One thing to note that I think in Canada we don't have 1920 x 1080i HDTV. I might be wrong. And you are talking about capturing via firewire (like MiniDV on Camcorders) not capture through a capture card like AIW?. The highest capture I would need is for SDTV which is Rogers Digital. I forget what the resolution is for Satellite transmission. If I wanted DVD movies I grab ISOs on Newgroups or to my buddy that does that stuff 24/7 (You didnt hear me say that). I am new to PVR and have not touched into that technology since about 3 years ago when I was playing around with it (ASUS capture/AIW capture).

Currently for software today I use WinDVD.. it drives my DVD and CDs. Windows slideshow automatically load when I pop in a compact flash card. I'll look into that MCE when I get all my facts straight about that software.

Also with MPEG decoding on the card does that mean that the CPU is not as important. So in my case my C3 processor with a Sigma Design XCARD I can do the same job as a P4 with a AIW with software mpeg. And you know how good ATI is with building drivers and software. I don't know where they hire those programmers up at Thornhill, Ontario. But I'm led to believe they have come out of a programming course in George Brown College. <--thats not a good thing

Here is an interesting review. The Xcard supposedly outclasses most video cards out there for DVD playback.
http://www.techspot.com/reviews/hardware/sigma_xcard/
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/products/story/0,24330,3351029,00.html
http://www.mini-itx.com/reviews/xcard/
http://www.sigmadesigns.com/products/xcard.htm

#9577 03/28/03 04:51 AM
Saturn Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
chess;