Axiom Home Page
Hi,

I'm interested in purchasing a pair of M80 speakers that I can keep around for a long time, but my receiver, a Denon 2310ci, is not rated to drive 4 ohm speakers (as far as I can tell). I'm new to this whole 4-ohm-vs-8-vs-6-ohm thing. I tried looking up the stats on even the Denon flagship receiver ($5.5k model) and it didn't seem rated to work with 4 ohm Front speakers either.

Will my receiver work or should I get another or an external amp or what?

Thanks for any help.
Historically, Denons have proven to work just fine with M80s, even down to their cheap receivers. Most receiver aren't rated for 4 ohms for regulatory reasons. When you do get the speakers, whatever you get, leave the receiver set to the highest impedence (ie 8 ohms) you can; anything less will result in current limiting which can damage speakers.
My Denon 2805 I purchased 6 yrs ago drove my 80's just fine for many years, I am now using a 3808 with no problems. All Denon's, even the lower priced models should have no issues. The 80's are very efficient and play verrrry loud with little power.
Thanks for your rapid responses -- I'll go ahead with the purchase.
Are you ordering from the Factory Outlet? You will save 10%, if you don't mind a slight delay...
No problem with the Denon powering the M80s, just keep it on the 8 ohm setting as Ken mentioned. Many of us here have asked the same question in the past and it's not an issue for the Denons to run these speakers.
I'm having trouble understanding the Denon manual. How do I ensure it's set to 8 ohm?

Thanks for the help.
I don't think the Denon's have this setting, I don't believe my 2805 or current 3808 have one. Some other brands like Onkyo have this setting.
Denon uses the phrase "Low Impedence Drive Capability". I believe all their AVR's have this in their specs so ie. it probably negates needing a switch, my 2809 doesn't have one but my older receiver(JVC) did.