John Wick 2 audio cutouts.

Posted by: Ya_basta

John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/25/18 07:23 PM

I watched some of JW 2 this morning, and I experienced major audio cutouts, to the point that there wasn't any audio for at least 5 minutes, so I stopped it. I was using Dolby Atmos on my Denon, so thinking that might be the cause because I don't have an Atmos setup, I switched audio formats to the next English one, which ridiculously was 2 channel (the receiver converted it to 7.1, but it sounded terrible. There was a 5.1 option in the setup menu, but it was in French.

So...... does Dolby Atmos only work if you have an Atmos setup, or is something not right with my receiver?

Thanks
Posted by: brwsaw

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/25/18 09:51 PM

I hate when stuff happens.
Had glitchy playback 2 days ago.
Totally ruins it.
Posted by: brendo

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/25/18 11:11 PM

In my experience the Atmos soundtrack was O.K. when I still had 7.1.
I enjoyed it more much richer details. Maybe Possibly something with the copyright 1.4\2.2?
Posted by: alan

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/26/18 10:56 AM

Hi Ya,

I can't answer you on the Dolby Atmos question, but what was the source for JW2? A Blu-ray disc? DVR? Netflix streaming?

I've experienced occasional audio drop-outs from Blu-ray discs (usually accompanied by video pixelation or lock-up)but not always. Streaming sources can sometimes be at fault as well.

Regards,
Alan
Posted by: TDIPablo

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/26/18 11:54 AM

How were you using Dolby Atmos if you haven't configured your Denon to Atmos? In order to enable the Atmos extension of the Dolby True HD codec, you must enable the correct speakers in the setup, otherwise, the "Atmos Soundrack" is simply played as Dolby True HD 5.1 (or 7.1). In other words, the Atmos extension gets folded back into the Dolby True HD 5.1/7.1 stream if the Atmos decoder is not detected/enabled in the receiver.

Sounds like you have a source issue if playing any other content seems to work.
Posted by: brendo

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/26/18 04:42 PM

Most of the details for the Atmos receivers say to put the audio input to PCM to let the receiver decode itself.
{I'm now with Anthem}

With even 5 or 7.1 and your Blueray set to the Atmos track it should still have more surround presence with just the audio select button. At least that was my opinion when still using 7.1 {Integra A.V.R.} the output of my Blueray players audio seemed a lot richer.

Around a couple months ago was trying to play Despicable Me 3 for my kids couldn't get the audio right for a couple days.
Turned out I had moved some stuff in my stand and unplugged my ADA's plugs from my receiver took a few tries to get them back in the correct slots with out pulling them out of the unit.

Have you checked your cables maybe something loose?
Posted by: Ya_basta

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/26/18 06:10 PM

Thanks for the replies.

Originally Posted By alan
Hi Ya,

I can't answer you on the Dolby Atmos question, but what was the source for JW2? A Blu-ray disc? DVR? Netflix streaming?

Regards,
Alan


It was a Blu-ray, Alan.



Originally Posted By TDIPablo
How were you using Dolby Atmos if you haven't configured your Denon to Atmos? In order to enable the Atmos extension of the Dolby True HD codec, you must enable the correct speakers in the setup, otherwise, the "Atmos Soundrack" is simply played as Dolby True HD 5.1 (or 7.1). In other words, the Atmos extension gets folded back into the Dolby True HD 5.1/7.1 stream if the Atmos decoder is not detected/enabled in the receiver.

Sounds like you have a source issue if playing any other content seems to work.


So the display on my Denon should say Dolby True HD 7.1, and not Dolby Atmos?

Originally Posted By brendo


Have you checked your cables maybe something loose?




Everything is connected properly.
Posted by: brwsaw

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/26/18 08:16 PM

Could be your player and your avr are both decoding the signal, might be causing a conflict.
Posted by: Gr8_White_North

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/26/18 10:19 PM

My oppo bdp 93 did similar with some movies, oppo's response was that the decoding chip just wasnt up the the task of the latest audio codecs and there was nothing they could do about it. So a $800 bluray player is shelved and replaced by a bdp 203 for cool grand and all is well. Such is the march of technology.
Posted by: TDIPablo

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/27/18 01:39 PM

Originally Posted By Ya_basta
Thanks for the replies.

Originally Posted By TDIPablo
How were you using Dolby Atmos if you haven't configured your Denon to Atmos? In order to enable the Atmos extension of the Dolby True HD codec, you must enable the correct speakers in the setup, otherwise, the "Atmos Soundrack" is simply played as Dolby True HD 5.1 (or 7.1). In other words, the Atmos extension gets folded back into the Dolby True HD 5.1/7.1 stream if the Atmos decoder is not detected/enabled in the receiver.

Sounds like you have a source issue if playing any other content seems to work.


So the display on my Denon should say Dolby True HD 7.1, and not Dolby Atmos?


Correct, if in your Denon's speaker configuration/assign mode you didn't specify at least 2 height speakers, the ATMOS and DTS:X formats shouldn't appear in the "support format" line. Is it possible you did assign your rear surrounds as height speakers?

Nonetheless, the signal dropout is likely a handshake issue between your source and the receiver (assuming that you tried playing another source an all-channel mode and got sound out of all speakers.)
Posted by: Ya_basta

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/27/18 09:44 PM

I called Denon today regarding this issue. They told me to change the audio soundtrack to Dolby True HD via the "movie" button on the remote. I did so and nothing changed. My case has apparently been escalated, and I'm awaiting their reply....

FWIW I have a BDP-83 player.
Posted by: Gr8_White_North

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/27/18 10:44 PM

Originally Posted By Ya_basta
I called Denon today regarding this issue. They told me to change the audio soundtrack to Dolby True HD via the "movie" button on the remote. I did so and nothing changed. My case has apparently been escalated, and I'm awaiting their reply....

FWIW I have a BDP-83 player.


Send a E to Oppo , see what they say. I am sure it will be what they told me. Its the truehd ,it just overwhelms the processor at some points.May also be a laser that is losing its Mojo.

Finally found the reason, its called seamless branching.
http://www.bigpicturebigsound.com/Existing-Blu-ray-Player-Dolby-Atmos-and-DTS-X.shtml


If you dont use atmos or dts x you could set the player to PCM
Posted by: Ya_basta

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 02/28/18 10:16 AM

I caved and bought a UDP-203 late last night. It had better solve my problems!
Posted by: Ya_basta

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 03/01/18 04:50 PM

Could anyone direct me on how i should set up the 203 to work properly with my Denon 4400H? It's been a while since I've done anything with my HT, thus I'm out of the loop.

Thanks
Posted by: brwsaw

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 03/02/18 08:53 PM

Plug in...
Connect HDMI cable(s)...
Insert disc...
Enjoy?
Posted by: Gr8_White_North

Re: John Wick 2 audio cutouts. - 03/02/18 09:42 PM

There is a great thread over at AVS Forum and Bob Pariseau is there and he is somehow connected with Oppo and they have every answer you could possibly need. I have one also but it was pretty seamless to set up, first thing first is to update the firmware and any time you do a firmware update a complete reset is recommended so backup your settings. If you have a 4k tv that is not hdr this machine will strip the meta data and still give you full 4k.