Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
1 registered (MarkSJohnson), 48 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13336 Members
11 Forums
22947 Topics
405867 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17809
pmbuko 16298
SirQuack 13344
CV 11273
MarkSJohnson 10968
Meanwhile On Facebook

The end of a truly unique voice. RIP Joe Cocker - you were part of the soundtr...

Here's hoping you get what you really want this year! What could be better than...

Shopping made easy! Need it by the 24th? Upgrade to air shipping for just $20!...

Just two more days! Better tell your gift-givers! http://axiomaudio.com/holida...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#144387 - 07/29/06 12:40 AM Cat 5 cable to power led lighting?
duckman Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 312
Loc: kansas
Hi all- So I bought a cyron media highlighter kit to backlight my qs8's. http://www.cyron.com The q's are mounted with fmb's and the 9 inch tubes fit back there pretty slick. The tubes have a 5 ft. cord on them with an oddball plug which plugs into the system. Since one of my q's is a good 15' away that presents the need for an "extension cord" for the 4 tiny wires powering each tube,without losing the oddball plug on the end.
After trying the one I was able to connect I decided each q needs 2 tubes, so thats 8 tiny wires. Which introduces cat 5 cable- 8 tiny wires in one cable.
My question is then- can I safely do this? is there a better way? I'd like to install cool little plugs so this is all unpluggable. Any of you IT geeks care to comment?
_________________________
Just say No to HDMI

Top
#144388 - 07/29/06 03:13 AM Re: Cat 5 cable to power led lighting? [Re: duckman]
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
I can't answer you questions, but thats some cool stuff, and I thought I was going overboard by adding my buttkicker lfe
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#144389 - 07/29/06 03:24 AM Re: Cat 5 cable to power led lighting? [Re: duckman]
BrenR Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/10/03
Posts: 3602
Loc: Winnipeg MB Canada
They don't give a lot of information on voltage and amperage requirements... it IS low voltage (~2V DC for each LED) but how are the LEDs wired? If it's in series, and I count 18 per tube... that'd be 18VDC - 54VDC depending on the LED... you could probably get away with it... but CAT5 is what, about 24 ga... I just wouldn't do it.

Bren R.

Top
#144390 - 07/29/06 07:10 PM Re: Cat 5 cable to power led lighting? [Re: BrenR]
duckman Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 312
Loc: kansas
I had a look on the power supply and it's rated at 110-240 V and 1.5 A input, 12V and 1500ma output. Thats for the 5 tubes it's supposed to power.
This deal is pretty cool, although I don't accept it as being a proper display backlight. It's great if you want just a little light in the room.
_________________________
Just say No to HDMI

Top
#144391 - 08/01/06 03:51 PM Re: Cat 5 cable to power led lighting? [Re: duckman]
LightninJoe Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/28/05
Posts: 558
Loc: Portland, OR
Quote:

I had a look on the power supply and it's rated at 110-240 V and 1.5 A input, 12V and 1500ma output. Thats for the 5 tubes it's supposed to power.
This deal is pretty cool, although I don't accept it as being a proper display backlight. It's great if you want just a little light in the room.




My only related experience is our VOIP phones here take 9V 750ma from PoE switches. No burned out walls yet.
_________________________
"That's some catch, that Catch-22." "It's the best there is." M22ti VP150 EP350 QS8 M3Ti

Top
#144392 - 08/02/06 09:32 AM Re: Cat 5 cable to power led lighting? [Re: LightninJoe]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16298
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
Good catch there, LJ. The IEEE standard for Power over Ethernet, 802.3af, allows up to 15.4 Watts per port. Watts = Volts * Amps, so as long as you don't exceed the specs, you should be fine.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.